Skip to main content
Montana State University - Home Montana State University Library - Home Ask the Library

EndNote

Use this bibliographic management and formatting software to help you manage citations and references throughout the process of writing a research paper.

EndNote Availability

EndNote X8EndNote X8 is now available campuswide, free for MSU students, faculty, & staff thanks to a library subscription. EndNote is one of the most used citation managers. It is a bibliographic management and formatting program that can help you manage citations, PDFs, and in text references throughout the process of writing a research paper.

  • Find, store, and organize references
  • Connect the citations to the full text of articles
  • Organize you references into groups
  • Format bibliographies in APA, MLA, Chicago, and thousands of other styles
  • Store references from Web of Science and other databases

 

EndNote Desktop Help

For more details on using EndNote, see the full online manual.

Adding Links to Full Text (OpenURL)

(Like Check MSU Availability links within our databases)

  1. Go to Edit/Preferences
  2. Go to Find Full Text
  3. Check the Enable OpenURL box
  4. Enter the following in the OpenURL Path: http://montana-sfx.hosted.exlibrisgroup.com/OMNIBOZ (New URL as of Aug. 2014!)
  5. In the arguments box, leave the default.
  6. To view, go to a full record display and then under the Reference menu, select the OpenURL link.

Off Campus Access

  1. Although we have a proxy server, it does not work well with EndNote.
  2. Instead use the VPN to connect from off campus.
  3. Leave the proxy field blank in the EndNote settings

Author Issues:

For organizations as authors (company names and governmental departments), enter the name followed by a trailing comma to avoid it being interpreted as a personal name and displaying like "Prevention, U. S. D. o. H. a. H. S. C. f. D. C. a."

trailing comma

If the corporate author name has a comma within the name, use two commas instead.

internal commas

 

Other Links