Resources for research in Education and related disciplines
Last Updated: Aug 19, 2014
Need help? Article unavailable? Looking for more research on a topic? Stop by the Research Center in the Renne Library (1st floor) to ask or use the other options below.
EndNote Web, a free, online bibliographic management and formatting software, can help you manage citations and references throughout the process of writing a research paper.
- Organize references to cite in papers
- Format bibliographies in APA, MLA, Chicago, and hundreds of other styles
- Store references from Web of Science and other databases.
First, Register for an account
Then, Log In
More EndNote Information
Including: EndNote Web Help Files
Where should you start your research? Most education-related topics are covered in the ERIC database, but if you're doing a comprehensive literature review, then you'll need to search your topic in at least a few databases. Not finding what you need? Ask a Librarian! We're available by phone, email, appointment, etc.!
- ERIC (Education Resources Information Center)
ERIC is a bibliographic and abstracts database covering the field of education. Includes citations and abstracts to educational journal articles (from the Current Index to Journals in Education [CIJE]) and educational documents (from the Research in Education [RIE]). Many of the educational documents 1993 - present are available online; some older ones available in the library's microform room by their ED number. ERIC is also available directly on the Web at http://eric.ed.gov/.
The primary database for research in psychology, PsycInfo provides access to the international literature in psychology and related behavioral and social sciences, including psychiatry, sociology, anthropology, education, pharmacology, and linguistics.
- Sociological Abstracts
Covers the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
- Theses and Dissertations from MSU and other institutions
Find the full text of theses and dissertations done at MSU and beyond. If a thesis or dissertation from another institution isn't available full text in our database (pre 1997) inquire about making an Interlibrary Loan Request: 406-994-3161.
Use this database to determine if a journal is peer-reviewed, or the Journals by Title database will provide peer review info for titles we subscribe to. UlrichsWeb is a bibliographic database on serials published throughout the world.
- Web of Science
Broad coverage of international literature in the sciences and social sciences. Allows citation searching to determine what papers cite a particular author/paper.
Use WorldCat to find more books on your topic, beyond what the MSU library owns. Use Interlibrary Loan to request items that you'd like to borrow.
Use CatSearch to search multiple databases at once; most but not all of the MSU Library's subscription databases are included in this search tool. Note the ability to limit to peer reviewed publications, etc.
- Explore other Education-related databases not listed above
Does your topic overlap with business, history, or other discipline not mentioned above? Explore other databases for your interdisciplinary research topics.
- Literature databases
- Testing & Education Reference Center
Use this database to take GRE (and other) practice exams, study the online GRE guide, explore graduate schools, build your resume and more!
- CollegeSource Online
Search profiles of accredited graduate (and other) programs at U.S. colleges and universities. Includes links to college & university websites, career information, and financial aid Information.
- Vault Career Library
Provides information to more than 3,000 companies, 40 industries, and over fifty career paths, including over ninety full-text career guides, as well as employer profiles, articles, message boards, and advice on careers, resumes, and cover letters.
- Occupational Outlook Handbook
See this U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics resource for information on hundreds of different types of jobs and careers. Find job search tips, plus information about the job market in each state, etc.