Library Guides: Counseling, Food Systems/Nutrition/Kinesiology, and Human Development &amp; Community Health Research Guide: Home

Databases for researching the literature in HHD

Where to start your research? You might start with Web of Science as it's a very large, interdisciplinary database. However, you may need to search your topic across several databases depending on the interdisciplinary nature of your topic and depending on how extensive of a literature review you're conducting. Most research questions are also appropriate for exploring in the PsycInfo behavioral sciences database.

Academic Search Complete
- This link opens in a new window
Journals, magazines, and newspapers in almost every subject area
CINAHL Ultimate
- This link opens in a new window
Covers nutrition & health related topics (nursing, allied health, biomedicine, and consumer health). NOTE link to CHOOSE DATABASES above search boxes; you can select several databases to search at one time.
Cochrane Library
- This link opens in a new window
Consists of evidence-based medicine databases and is a unique source of current, reliable information on the effects of interventions in health care.

Dissertations & Theses Global database
Dissertations and theses from around the world, from 1743 to present; full text for works since 1997.
EconLit
Covers the worldwide literature on economics.

ERIC
- This link opens in a new window
Covers research in education and related disciplines.
Medline (via Web of Science)
- This link opens in a new window
Biomedical literature; alternative interface to Medline. Provides links to our journal holdings through the CHECK MSU AVAILABILITY link, a feature not included in the PubMED interface.
PsycInfo
- This link opens in a new window
The primary database for research in psychology, and related behavioral and social sciences, including psychiatry, sociology, anthropology, education, pharmacology, and linguistics.
PubMed
- This link opens in a new window
Original Medline interface to biomedical literature; does not provide links to MSU journal holdings. Search our JournaList database to determine if the library has a journal from which you need an article.
Sociological Abstracts
- This link opens in a new window
Covers the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
SPORTDiscus
- This link opens in a new window
Covers recreation, exercise physiology, sports medicine, coaching, physical fitness, the psychology, history, and sociology of sport, training, and conditioning.
Web of Science
- This link opens in a new window
Very large database covering Science Citation Index and Social Science Citation Index, Medline, BIOSIS, and Zoological Record.
ScholarWorks (MSU Electronic Theses & Dissertations)
- This link opens in a new window
Find MSU theses and dissertations.
Cabells
- This link opens in a new window
Use this directory to identify possible publishing venues for your manuscripts.
The MSU Library's subscription to Cabells contains access to:
- Journalytics
- Predatory Reports
Journal Citation Reports
- This link opens in a new window
Use to determine a journal's impact factor and influence in a research subject.
Foundation Directory Online
- This link opens in a new window
Use to explore grant possibilities from non-governmental entities. Licensing contract restricts use to library use only. Search grants.gov to find federal grants.

Agriculture Databases
More Business/Industry databases
Explore this link to find even more databases relevant to Business and Industry.
More HHD-related databases
Explore this link to find even more databases, including Health and Psychosocial instruments, etc.

Counseling & Therapy
- This link opens in a new window
Videos and transcripts from live counseling sessions
Counseling and Psychotherapy Transcripts Volume I
- This link opens in a new window
Counseling primary source materials including patient narratives and transcriptions of therapy sessions
Sage Research Methods
- This link opens in a new window
Material to guide users through every step of the research process

Understanding Research Study Designs and Clinical/Statistical Significance

Finding Citation Counts

How can you determine how many times a particular article/study has been cited by others? Try searching for your article in one or more of these databases for starters.

Web of Science Core Collection
- This link opens in a new window
PsycInfo
- This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar
- This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Ultimate
- This link opens in a new window

Health Research & Data in the News

Health Research & Data in the News

Data & Statistical Sets resources

Qualtrics
Build surveys for gathering research data.
REDcap
Build databases & surveys for managing and gathering research data.

Counseling, Food Systems/Nutrition/Kinesiology, and Human Development & Community Health Research Guide

Your HHD Librarian

Databases for researching the literature in HHD

Understanding Research Study Designs and Clinical/Statistical Significance

Finding Citation Counts

How can you determine how many times a particular article/study has been cited by others? Try searching for your article in one or more of these databases for starters.

Health Research & Data in the News

Data & Statistical Sets resources