Database Specific Instructions
Get References from MSU Databases added to EndNote
Web
Use these directions to transfer records from the listed database to your EndNote Web account. After searching in one of our databases, save or export the selected records according to the steps listed below. Click the Collect tab and then "Import References."
- Upload the file containing the records you saved from the database
- Pick the listed import filter from the long drop down list (or click the "Customize this list" link to get the full list).
- Click the Import button
- Academic OneFile1. Click the article you want
2. Click “Citation Tools” on upper right side
3. Upper “export to third party software” check “EndNote”
4. Click "Export"
5. Save the file as .RIS.
6. In EndNote, use the RefMan RIS filter to import the records. - Academic Search Complete1. Click "Add to folder" below the record, then click "Folder" in the upper right hand corner.
2. Click "Export."
3. Select "Direct Export to EndNote Web."
4. Click "Save." - ACM Digital Library1. Click on the record you want to export
2. In the “Tools and Resources” click “EndNote”
3. Save the file.
4. In EndNote, use the EndNote Import filter to import the records. - Agricola1. Click "Add to folder" below the record, then click "Folder" in the upper right hand corner.
2. Click "Export."
3. Select "Direct Export to EndNote Web."
4. Click "Save." - America: History & Life1. Click "Add to folder" below the record, then click "Folder" in the upper right hand corner.
2. Click "Export."
3. Select "Direct Export to EndNote Web."
4. Click "Save." - American Periodicals Series Online, 1741-19001. Mark the records you wish to export.
2. Click "My Research" at the top of the page.
3. At the top of the page select "Export citations."
4. Then select "Export directly to ProCite, EndNote or Reference Manager."
5. Save the file as .RIS.
6. In EndNote, use the RefMan RIS filter to import the records. - Anthropological Literature1. Mark the records you wish to export.
2. Click "Export."
3. Choose Export to: "EndNote"
4. Save File.
5. In EndNote, use the Anthropological Lit (OCLC) filter to import the records. - Art Abstracts1. Mark the records you wish to export.
2. Click "Exporting/Citing."
3. Select the appropriate option for the records you wish to export and download records into "The EndNote Filter."
4. Click "Export."
5. Save the file.
6. In EndNote, use the WilsonWeb filter to import the records. - ArticleFirst1. Mark the records you wish to export.
2. Click "Export."
3. Choose to "Export: Marked records from this search" and choose "Export To: EndNote."
4. Click "Export" and save the file.
5. In EndNote, use the ArticleFirst (OCLC) filter to import the records. - Astrophysics Data System (ADS)1. Mark the records you wish to export.
2. At the bottom of the page under "Retrieve the above records in other formats or sort order" select "EndNote format (UTF-8)" and "Save to file".
3. Click "Retrieve selected references."
4. Click "Save."
5. In EndNote, use the EndNote Import filter to import the records. - Avery Index1. Mark the records you wish to export.
2. Click "Export."
3. Choose "Export: Marked records from this search"
and "Export To: EndNote."
4. Click "Export" and save the file.
5. In EndNote, use the WorldCat (OCLC) filter to import the records. - Bibliography of Asian Studies1. Click "add to bookbag" below the record you wish to export.
2. In the separate pop-up window, select "Download Contents."
3. Save the file as a .txt.
4. In EndNote, use the Bib of Asian Studies filter to import the records. - Bibliography of Native North Americans1. Click "Add to folder" below the record, then click "Folder" in the upper right hand corner.
2. Click "Export."
3. Select "Direct Export to EndNote Web."
4. Click "Save." - Biological Abstracts1. Mark the records you wish to export.
2. In the box at the bottom of the screen, under "Output Records: Step One," mark "Selected Records on Page."
3. Under "Output Records: Step Two," mark "Author, Title, Source" and "plus Abstract."
4. Click "Save to EndNote Web." - Biological and Agricultural Index1. Mark records to export.
2. Click "Exporting/Citing."
3. Select the appropriate option for the records you wish to export and download records into "The EndNote Filter."
4. Click "Export."
5. Save the file as .RIS.
6. In EndNote, use the WilsonWeb filter to import the records. - Books in Print1. Mark the records you wish to export.
2. Click "View Selected Items" then click "Download."
3. Select "Standard Download" and click "Go."
4. Then select "ASCII (plain text)" and click "Go."
5. In the File menu, select "Save page as..." and save the file.
6. In EndNote, use the Books in Print (Bowker) filter to import the selected record. - Business & Company Resource Center1. Mark the records you wish to export.
2. Click "Update Mark List" at the top of the page.
3. Then click "View Mark List."
4. In the top left hand corner of the page click Email.
5. Enter email address. - Business and Company ASAP1. Mark the records you wish to export.
2. Click "Marked Items" on the left side of the page.
3. At the bottom of the page under "E-Mail Delivery" select "Full article (if available)"
4. Enter email address. - Business Source Complete1. Click "Add to folder" below the record, then click "Folder" in the upper right hand corner.
2. Click "Export."
3. Select "Direct Export to EndNote Web."
4. Click "Save." - CAB Direct1. Mark the records you wish to export.
2. On the right-hand side of the page, select "Export marked Citations."
3. Select “Full Record”
4. Click "Export EndNote (RIS) format."
5. Save file.
6. In EndNote, use the RefMan RIS filter to import the records. - CatSearch1. Save the items (mouse over record and click the +folder icon)
2. At the bottom right corner of the page, click the Saved Items folder
3. Click "EndNote" tab
4. Save file
5. In EndNote, use the RefMan RIS filter to import the records. - CINAHL1. Click "Add to folder" below the record, then click "Folder" in the upper right hand corner.
2. Click "Export."
3. Select "Direct Export to EndNote Web."
4. Click "Save." - Cochrane Library1. Mark the references you wish to export.
2. At the bottom of the page, select "Export Selected Citations."
3. Select Export Type: "Abstract and Citation" and File Type: "PC."
4. Save the file as txt.
5. In EndNote, use the Cochrane Library (Wiley) filter to import the records. - Communication and Mass Media Collection1. Mark the records you wish to export.
2. Click "Marked Items" at the top of the page.
3. In the upper right corner, click the icon "Citation Tools."
4. In the "Export to third party software" section, choose "EndNote" and click "Export."
5. Save the file as .RIS.
6. In EndNote, use the RefMan RIS filter to import the records. - Compendex1. Mark the records you wish to export.
2. Click "download."
3. Select "RIS, EndNote, ProCite, Reference Manager" as your download format.
4. Make sure the file is .RIS and click "Save."
5. In EndNote, use the RefMan RIS filter to import the records. - Computer Database1. Mark the records you wish to export.
2. Click "Marked Items" at the top of the page.
3. In the upper right corner, click the icon "Citation Tools."
4. In the "Export to third party software" section, choose "EndNote" and click "Export."
5. Save the file as .RIS.
6. In EndNote, use the RefMan RIS filter to import the records. - Conference Papers Index1. Mark the references you wish to export.
2. Click "Save, Print, Email."
3. Choose to "Use Marked Records," and save using a PC.
4. Click "Save."
5. In EndNote, use the Conf Papers Index (CSA) filter to import the records. - CQ Electronic Library1. Click the title of the record you wish to export.
2. At the top of the page, select "CiteNow!"
3. Select Export Citation to: "EndNote."
4. Save the file as .RIS.
5. In EndNote, use the RefMan RIS filter to import the records. - Criminal Justice Abstracts1. Click "Add to folder" below the record, then click "Folder" in the upper right hand corner.
2. Click "Export."
3. Select "Direct Export to EndNote Web."
4. Click "Save." - CSA Environmental Sciences1. Mark the records you wish to export.
2. Click "Save, Print, Email."
3. Choose to "Use Marked Records," and save using a PC.
4. Click "Save."
5. In EndNote, use the Environmental Sci (CSA) filter to import the records. - Dissertations and Theses: Full Text1. Mark the records you wish to export.
2. Click "My Research" at the top of the page.
3. At the top of the page select "Export citations."
4. Then select "Export directly to ProCite, EndNote or Reference Manager."
5. Save the file as .RIS.
6. In EndNote, use the RefMan RIS filter to import the records. - EconLit1. Mark the records you wish to export.
2. Click "Save, Print, Email."
3. Choose to "Use Marked Records," and save using a PC.
4. Click "Save."
5. In EndNote, use the EconLit (OCLC) filter to import the records. - Environment Complete1. Click "Add to folder" below the record, then click "Folder" in the upper right hand corner.
2. Click "Export."
3. Select "Direct Export to EndNote Web."
4. Click "Save." - ERIC1. Mark the records you wish to export.
2. Click "Export."
3. Choose to "Export: Marked records from this search" and choose to "Export To: EndNote."
4. Click "Export" and save the file.
5. In EndNote, use the ERIC (OCLC) filter to import the records. - Film and Television Literature Index1. Click "Add to folder" below the record, then click "Folder" in the upper right hand corner.
2. Click "Export."
3. Select "Direct Export to EndNote Web."
4. Click "Save." - Fish and Fisheries Worldwide1. Click "Add to folder" below the record, then click "Folder" in the upper right hand corner.
2. Click "Export."
3. Select "Direct Export to EndNote Web."
4. Click "Save." - Gale Directory Library1. Mark the references you wish to export.
2. At the top of the page, click "Marked Items."
3. Click "How to Cite Marked Items."
4. Under Export to Third Party Software, select "EndNote" and click "Export."
5. Save the file as .RIS.
6. In EndNote, use the RefMan RIS filter to import the records. - Gale Virtual Reference Library1. Mark the records you wish to export.
2. Click "Marked Items" at the top of the page.
3. In the left hand tool box, click the icon "Citation Tools."
4. In the "Export to third party software" section, choose "EndNote" and click "Export."
5. Save the file as .RIS.
6. In EndNote, use the RefMan RIS filter to import the records. - General Reference Center Gold1. Mark the records you wish to export.
2. Click "Marked Items" at the top of the page.
3. In the upper right hand corner, click the icon "Citation Tools."
4. In the "Export to third party software" section, choose "EndNote" and click "Export."
5. Save the file as .RIS.
6. In EndNote, use the RefMan RIS filter to import the records. - GEOBASE1. Mark the records you wish to export.
2. Click "Export."
3. Choose "Export: Marked records from this search"
and "Export To: EndNote."
4. Click "Export" and save the file.
5. In EndNote, use the GEOBASE (OCLC) filter to import the records. - GeoRef1. Mark the records you wish to export.
2. Click "Save, Print, Email."
3. Choose to "Use Marked Records," and save using a PC.
4. Click "Save."
5. In EndNote, use the GeoRef (CSA) filter to import the records. - GeoScienceWorld1. Mark the records you wish to export.
2. At the bottom of the page, select "For checked items on this page" and "download to citation manager," then click "GO."
3. Click "Download ALL Selected Citations
to Citation Manager" on the right hand side of the page.
4. Select "EndNote" and then save the file.
5. In EndNote, use the EndNote Import filter to import the records. You may need to redo the process if a record from your group does not make it through the first tim - Google Scholar1. In upper right corner click on the gear icon and select “Scholar Preferences”
2. Under “Bibliography Manager” select “Show links to import citations into” and select “EndNote” from drop down list
3. Save preferences, now start your search
4. Click on record you want
5. Click “export citation” on right side of page
6. Select “RIS file” and save
7. In EndNote import using RefMan RIS filter - GPO Monthly Catalog1. Mark the records you wish to export.
2. Click "Export."
3. Choose to "Export: Marked records from this search" and choose "Export To: EndNote."
4. Click "Export" and save the file.
5. In EndNote, use the GPO (OCLC) filter to import the records. - Health Reference Center1. Mark the records you wish to export.
2. Click "Marked Items" at the top of the page.
3. In the upper right hand corner, click the icon "Citation Tools."
4. In the "Export to third party software" section, choose "EndNote" and click "Export."
5. Save the file as .RIS.
6. In EndNote, use the RefMan RIS filter to import the records. - Historical Abstracts1. Click "Add to folder" below the record, then click "Folder" in the upper right hand corner.
2. Select the Refs and click "Export."
3. Select "Direct Export to EndNote Web."
4. Click "Save." - Historical Newspapers1. Mark the records you wish to export.
2. Click "My Research" at the top of the page.
3. At the top of the page select "Export citations."
4. Then select "Export directly to ProCite, EndNote or Reference Manager."
5. Save the file as .RIS.
6. In EndNote, use the RefMan RIS filter to import the records. - IEEE Xplore1. Mark the records you wish to export.
2. In the "Download Citations" box at the top of the page, use the drop-down menus to choose "Citation only" and "EndNote, PoCite, RefMan", then click "Download Citation".
4. Save the file as .RIS.
5. In EndNote, use the RefMan RIS filter to import the records. - InfoTrac Newspapers1. Mark the records you wish to export.
2. Click "Marked Items" at the top of the page.
3. In the upper right corner, click the icon "Citation Tools."
4. In the "Export to third party software" section, choose "EndNote" and click "Export."
5. Save the file as .RIS.
6. In EndNote, use the RefMan RIS filter to import the records. - InfoTrac PowerSearch1. Click on Title of record
2. Click on “Citation Tools” on right side of page
3. Select “EndNote” under “export to third party software”
4. Click “export”
5. In EndNote Web, use the RefMan RIS filter to import the records. - Inspec1. Mark the records you wish to export.
2. Toward the top of the page, click "Download," and "Export to RIS, EndNote, ProCite, or Reference Manager."
3. Save the file as .RIS.
4. In EndNote, use the RefMan RIS filter to import the records. - JSTOR1. Select the records you want
2. Click on “export Citation” at top of page
3. Click on RIS file from list at top of page
4. Save file
5. In EndNote Web, use the RefMan RIS filter to import the records. - LegalTrac1. Mark the records you wish to export.
2. Click "Marked Items" at the top of the page.
3. In the upper right hand corner, click the icon "Citation Tools."
4. In the "Export to third party" section, choose "Endnote" and click "Export."
5. Save the file as .RIS.
6. In EndNote, use the RefMan RIS filter to import the records. - Library and Information Science Abstracts (LISA)1. Mark the records you wish to export.
2. Click "Save, Print, Email."
3. Choose to "Use Marked Records," and save using a PC.
4. Click "Save."
5. In EndNote, use the LISA (CSA) filter to import the records. - Library, Information Science and Technology Abstracts (LISTA)1. Click "Add to folder" below the record, then click "Folder" in the upper right hand corner.
2. Click "Export."
3. Select "Direct Export to EndNote Web."
4. Click "Save." - MLA International Bibliography1. Mark the records you wish to export.
2. Click "Marked Items" at the top of the page.
3. In the left hand tool box, click the icon "Citation Tools."
4. In the "Export to third party software" section, choose "EndNote" and click "Export."
5. Save the file as .RIS.
6. In EndNote, use the RefMan RIS filter to import the records. - OpticsInfoBase1. Mark the records you wish to export.
2. At the top of the page under "Select an action...", select "EndNote (RIS)" and click Go.
3. Save the file.
4. In EndNote, use the RefMan RIS filter to import the records. - PapersFirst1. Mark the records you wish to export.
2. Click "Export."
3. Choose to "Export: Marked records from this search" and "Export to: EndNote."
4. Click "Export" and save the file.
5. In EndNote, use the PapersFirst (OCLC) filter to import the records. - Philosophers Index1. Mark the records you wish to export.
2. Click "Save, Print, Email."
3. Choose to "Use Marked Records," and save using a PC.
4. Click "Save."
5. In EndNote, use the Philosophers Index (CSA) filter to import the records. - PsycArticles1. Mark the records you wish to export.
2. Click "Save, Print, Email."
3. Choose to "Use Marked Records," and save using a PC.
4. Click "Save."
5. In EndNote, use the PsycINFO (CSA) filter to import the records. - PsycInfo1. Mark the records you wish to export.
2. Click "Save, Print, Email."
3. Choose to "Use Marked Records," and save using a PC.
4. Click "Save."
5. In EndNote, use the PsycINFO (CSA) filter to import the records. - Religious and Theological Abstracts1. Mark the records you wish to export.
2. Toward top of the page click "With selected: View."
3. At the top of the page click "With results: Save."
4. Click "Save."
5. In EndNote, use the WorldCat (OCLC) filter to import the records. - Sage Online Journals1. Mark the records you wish to export.
2. On the right side click "Add to my Citations".
3. Then select "Email/Download/Save/Print" and click Go.
4. Select "Citation and Abstract" as the format, and click "Download to Citation Manager."
5. On the right side select EndNote and save the file.
6. In EndNote, use the EndNote Import filter to import the records. - Sociological Abstracts1. Mark the references you wish to export.
2. Click "Save, Print, Email."
3. Choose to "Use Marked Records," and save using a PC.
4. Click "Save."
5. In EndNote, use the Sociological Abs (CSA) filter to import the records. - SPIE Digital Library1. Mark the records you want
2. Click “download citation”
3. Select “EndNote( RIS)”
4. Click Download
5. In EndNote, use the RefMan RIS filter to import the record - Springer E-Books1. Click on the title of the record you wish to export.
2. Click Export Citation above the Abstract.
3. Under Export select "Citation and Abstract"
4. Choose "EndNote" for the Citation Manager and Export Citation.
5. In EndNote, use the SpringerLink filter to import the record. - SPORTDiscus1. Click "Add to folder" below the record, then click "Folder" in the upper right hand corner.
2. Click "Export."
3. Select "Direct Export to EndNote Web."
4. Click "Save." - TRIS1. Mark the records you wish to export.
2. At the top of the page click "Marked Records" then click "Save."
3. Under format options save the file as "RIS."
4. Click "Download File."
5. In EndNote, use the RefMan RIS filter to import the records. - Web of Knowledge Combined1. Mark the records you wish to export.
2. In the box at the bottom of the screen, under "Output Records: Step One," mark "Selected Records on Page."
3. Under "Output Records: Step Two," mark "Author, Title, Source" and "plus Abstract."
4. Click "Save to EndNote Web." - Web of Science1. Mark the records you wish to export.
2. In the box at the bottom of the screen, under "Output Records: Step One," mark "Selected Records on Page."
3. Under "Output Records: Step Two," mark "Author, Title, Source" and "plus Abstract."
4. Click "Save to EndNote Web." - Wildlife and Ecology Studies Worldwide1. Click "Add to folder" below the record, then click "Folder" in the upper right hand corner.
2. Click "Export."
3. Select "Direct Export to EndNote Web."
4. Click "Save." - WorldCat1. Mark the records you wish to export.
2. Click "Export."
3. Choose "Export: Marked records from this search"
and "Export To: EndNote."
4. Click "Export" and save the file.
5. In EndNote, use the WorldCat (OCLC) filter to import the records. - Zoological Record1. Mark the records you wish to export.
2. In the box at the bottom of the screen, under "Output Records: Step One," mark "Selected Records on Page."
3. Under "Output Records: Step Two," mark "Author, Title, Source" and "plus Abstract."
4. Click "Save to EndNote Web."
Librarian |
Links: Profile & Guides |




Loading content... please wait
