This is the "Home" page of the "ANTY 225IS: Culture, Language, and Society" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

ANTY 225IS: Culture, Language, and Society   Tags: anthropology, course_guide, culture, ethnography, sociology  

The nature of culture through selected societies: symbolism and world view as related to cultural dynamics and representational forms. A survey of social practices, linguistic and cultural representations, exchange, identity, and the dynamics of power.
Last Updated: Feb 17, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.montana.edu/content.php?pid=268277 Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Library Services

 

Dictionaries/Encyclopedias

Cover Art
A Dictionary of Sociology - Gordon Marshall
Call Number: HM17.C66 1998 *EBOOK
Publication Date: 3rd Revised Edition--2009


Encyclopedia of Urban Studies - Ray Hutchison
Call Number: HT108.5.E634 2010
2 vols.


Encyclopedia of Disability - Gary L. Albrecht
Call Number: HV1568.E528 2006 (Reference)
5 vols.


Encyclopedia of Sociology - Edgar F. Borgatta
Call Number: HM425.E5 2000 (Ebook)
Publication Date: 2002
5 vols.

Collins Dictionary of Sociology [electronic resource] - Jary, David
Call Number: HM425 .C65 2005 eb
Publication Date: 2005

The Cambridge Dictionary of Sociology [electronic resource] - Turner, Bryan S.
Call Number: HM425 .C36 2006 eb
Publication Date: 2006



World of Sociology [electronic resource] - Palmisano, Joseph M.
Call Number: HM585 .W67 2001 eb
Publication Date: 2001

Encyclopedia of Social Theory [electronic resource] - Ritzer, George
Call Number: HM425 .E47 2005 eb
Publication Date: 2005

Articles (Indexes & Databases)

  • Academic Search Premier  
      
    Access sociology-related popular and academic articles
  • Anthropological Literature
    Bibliographic database with coverage of anthropology, archaeology, applied anthropology, biological and physical anthropology, cultural and social anthropology, ethnohistory, ethnomusicology, folklore, linguistic anthropology, and related interdisciplinary research.
  • InfoTrac PowerSearch  
      
    MSU's largest multidisciplinary collection with full text articles & books
  • LexisNexis Academic  
      
    Full-text resource for news, business, health, biographical, and legal topics
  • Social Sciences Citation Index
    Includes bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references found in over 1,950 social science journals along with selected items from another 3,500 scientific, technical, and art and humanities journals.
  • Sociological Abstracts  
      
    Sociological literature including books, conference proceedings, & dissertations
  • Bibliography of Native North Americans
    Bibliographic database with coverage on the history, life, and culture of native North Americans
  • Bibliography of Asian Studies
    Indexes principally western-language articles and book chapters on all parts of Asia published since 1971.
  • WorldCat
    Containing more than 40 million records describing items held by hundreds of libraries around the country and some international libraries. Many of these items are available through the Library's free Interlibrary Loan program.
  • UlrichsWeb
    Use for additional information about periodicals, including peer-review status.
  • Agricola
    Source for research in agricultural/rural ethnography
  • America: History and Life
    Bibliographic database with citations and abstracts covering the fields of U.S. and Canadian history, area studies, and current affairs literature. Targeted selection of hundreds of journals in the social sciences and humanities.
  • Google Scholar
    Searches a broad collection of full text journals, technical reports, preprints, and other academic documents. Some are available from MSU Library subscriptions, but others are not.
 

Other Books

Cover Art
Contemporary Studies in Ethnology - Alfonso Ivarra
Call Number: GN345.C66 2009 (2nd Floor)
Ethnology: Methodology & Research

Cover Art
Ethnography and Virtual Worlds - George E. Marcus (Foreword by); Tom Boellstorff; Bonnie Nardi; Celia Pearce; T. L. Taylor
Call Number: GN345.E745 2012
ISBN: 069114950X
Publication Date: 2012-09-04
A concise, comprehensive, and practical guide for students, teachers, designers, and scholars interested in using ethnographic methods to study online virtual worlds, including both game and nongame environments

Ethnography in Social Science Practice - Julie Scott-Jones (Editor); Sal Watt (Editor)
Call Number: GN345.E75 2010
ISBN: 9780415543477
Publication Date: 2010-05-03
Explores ethnography’s increasing use across the social sciences, beyond its traditional bases in social anthropology and sociology.

Doing Visual Ethnography: Images, Media, and Representation in Research - Sarah Pink
Call Number: GN347.P56 2007 (2nd Floor)
Explores the use and potential of photography, video, and hypermedia in ethnographic and social research

Ethnography: Step by Step - David M. Fetterman
Call Number: GN345 .F47 1998 (2nd Floor)
Begins with an overview of anthropological terms and concepts, providing clear definitions and examples of each before laying out the nuts and bolts of both qualitative and quantitative information gathering by covering the methods and techniques of fieldwork, equipment needed, analysis of data, and report writing

Handbook of Methods in Cultural Anthropology - H. Russell Bernard
Call Number: GN345.H37 1998 (2nd Floor)
Nineteen chapters by active researchers describe the methods that anthropologists use, the logic behind their use, and the complex problems involved in conducting research on people in their natural setting.



Subject Guide

Profile Image
Rich Wojtowicz
Contact Info
The Libraries
Montana State University
P.O. Box 173320
Bozeman, MT 59717-3320

Renne Library, Rm 118
Phone: 406-994-1873
FAX: 406-994-2851
richw@montana.edu
Send Email

Link suggestions?

Please suggest any other links or other materials that you find valuable for possible inclusion on this resources page.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip