This is the "Home" page of the "ANTY 225IS: Culture, Language, and Society" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

ANTY 225IS: Culture, Language, and Society   Tags: anthropology, course_guide, culture, ethnography, sociology  

The nature of culture through selected societies: symbolism and world view as related to cultural dynamics and representational forms. A survey of social practices, linguistic and cultural representations, exchange, identity, and the dynamics of power.
Last Updated: Aug 20, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.montana.edu/content.php?pid=268277 Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Dictionaries/Encyclopedias

A Dictionary of Sociology - Gordon Marshall (Editor)
Call Number: HM17.C66 1998 *EBOOK
Publication Date: 1998-12-17

The Blackwell Dictionary of Sociology - Allan G. Johnson
Call Number: HM425 .J64 2000 eb
ISBN: 0631227660
Publication Date: 2000-01-01

Encyclopedia of Urban Studies - Ray Hutchison (Editor)
Call Number: HT108.5.E634 2010
ISBN: 9781412914321
Publication Date: 2009-09-15
2 vols.

Encyclopedia of Disability - Gary L. Albrecht (Editor)
Call Number: HV1568.E528 2006 (Reference)
ISBN: 0761925651
Publication Date: 2005-10-07
5 vols.

Encyclopedia of Sociology - Edgar F. Borgatta
Call Number: HM425.E5 2000 (Ebook)
Publication Date: 2002
5 vols.

Collins Dictionary of Sociology [electronic resource] - Jary, David
Call Number: HM425 .C65 2005 eb
Publication Date: 2005

The Cambridge Dictionary of Sociology [electronic resource] - Turner, Bryan S.
Call Number: HM425 .C36 2006 eb
Publication Date: 2006



World of Sociology [electronic resource] - Palmisano, Joseph M.
Call Number: HM585 .W67 2001 eb
Publication Date: 2001

Encyclopedia of Social Theory [electronic resource] - Ritzer, George
Call Number: HM425 .E47 2005 eb
Publication Date: 2005

Articles (Indexes & Databases)

  • Academic Search Complete  
      
    Access anthropology-related popular and academic articles
  • Agricola
    Source for research in agricultural/rural ethnography
  • America: History and Life
    Bibliographic database with citations and abstracts covering the fields of U.S. and Canadian history, area studies, and current affairs literature. Targeted selection of hundreds of journals in the social sciences and humanities.
  • Annual Reviews
    Offers comprehensive, timely collections of critical reviews written by leading scientists.
  • Anthropological Literature
    Anthropological Literature is a bibliographic database with coverage of anthropology, archaeology, applied anthropology, biological and physical anthropology, cultural and social anthropology, ethnohistory, ethnomusicology, folklore, linguistic anthropology, and related interdisciplinary research.
  • Anthropological Literature
    Bibliographic database with coverage of anthropology, archaeology, applied anthropology, biological and physical anthropology, cultural and social anthropology, ethnohistory, ethnomusicology, folklore, linguistic anthropology, and related interdisciplinary research.
  • Bibliography of Asian Studies
    Indexes principally western-language articles and book chapters on all parts of Asia published since 1971.
  • Bibliography of Native North Americans
    Bibliographic database with coverage on the history, life, and culture of native North Americans
  • Google Scholar
    Searches a broad collection of full text journals, technical reports, preprints, and other academic documents. Some are available from MSU Library subscriptions, but others are not.
  • InfoTrac PowerSearch  
      
    MSU's largest multidisciplinary collection with full text articles & books
  • LexisNexis Academic  
      
    Full-text resource for news, business, health, biographical, and legal topics
  • Social Sciences Citation Index
    Includes bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references found in over 1,950 social science journals along with selected items from another 3,500 scientific, technical, and art and humanities journals.
  • Sociological Abstracts  
      
    Sociological literature including books, conference proceedings, & dissertations
  • UlrichsWeb
    Use for additional information about periodicals, including peer-review status.
  • WorldCat
    Containing more than 40 million records describing items held by hundreds of libraries around the country and some international libraries. Many of these items are available through the Library's free Interlibrary Loan program.
 

Other Books

Cover Art
Community-Based Ethnography - Ernest T. Stringer; Mary Frances Agnello; Sheila Conant Baldwin; Lois McFayden Christensen; Deana Lee Philb Henry
Call Number: GN345.C643 1997 (2nd Floor)
ISBN: 0805822909
Publication Date: 1997-07-01
This book explores their attempts to come to grips with fundamental issues related to writing narrative accounts purporting to represent aspects of people's lives.

Cover Art
Contemporary Studies in Ethnography - Alfonso Ivarra; Penelope Aguero
Call Number: GN345.C66 2009 (2nd Floor)
ISBN: 9781606923771
Publication Date: 2009-07-01
This book provides suggestions on how the analytical process and findings of ethnography and other forms of social science research may be applied. It also describes conceptual and methodological challenges related to qualitative research in general, and ethnography in particular.

Cover Art
Doing Visual Ethnography - Sarah Pink
Call Number: GN347.P56 2007 (2nd Floor)
ISBN: 9781446211175
Publication Date: 2013-11-21
Explores the use and potential of photography, video, and hypermedia in ethnographic and social research

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Sociology - Edgar F. Borgatta (Editor); Rhonda J. V. Montgomery (Editor)
Call Number: HM425 .E5 2000 [Internet]
ISBN: 9780028648538
Publication Date: 2000-11-16
This classic reference has been updated to reflect many changes in society and in the field of sociology in recent years. Articles covering core issues such as race, poverty, violence, economics, pregnancy and abortion have been updated and expanded, and completely new articles have been written on topics such as the Internet, privacy and epidemiology.

Cover Art
Ethnography - David M. Fetterman
Call Number: GN345 .F47 1998 (2nd Floor)
ISBN: 076191384X
Publication Date: 1997-12-15
Begins with an overview of anthropological terms and concepts, providing clear definitions and examples of each before laying out the nuts and bolts of both qualitative and quantitative information gathering by covering the methods and techniques of fieldwork, equipment needed, analysis of data, and report writing

Cover Art
Ethnography and Virtual Worlds - George E. Marcus (Foreword by); Tom Boellstorff; Bonnie Nardi; Celia Pearce; T. L. Taylor
Call Number: GN345.E745 2012 (2nd Floor)
ISBN: 069114950X
Publication Date: 2012-09-04
A concise, comprehensive, and practical guide for students, teachers, designers, and scholars interested in using ethnographic methods to study online virtual worlds, including both game and nongame environments

Cover Art
Ethnography in Social Science Practice - Julie Scott-Jones (Editor); Sal Watt (Editor)
Call Number: GN345.E75 2010 (2nd Floor)
ISBN: 9780415543477
Publication Date: 2010-05-03
Explores ethnography’s increasing use across the social sciences, beyond its traditional bases in social anthropology and sociology.

Cover Art
Handbook of Methods in Cultural Anthropology - H. Russell Bernard
Call Number: GN345.H37 1998 (2nd Floor)
ISBN: 0761991514
Publication Date: 1998-09-22
Nineteen chapters by active researchers describe the methods that anthropologists use, the logic behind their use, and the complex problems involved in conducting research on people in their natural setting.

Cover Art
Sociality - Nicholas J. Long (Editor); Henrietta L. Moore (Editor)
Call Number: GN316.S63 (2nd Floor)
ISBN: 9780857457899
Publication Date: 2012-12-15
This book is an invaluable resource, not only for research and teaching, but for anyone interested in the question of what makes us social.

Cover Art
Transforming Ethnographic Knowledge - Rebecca Hardin (Editor); Kamari Maxine Clarke (Editor)
Call Number: GN316.T87 (2nd Floor)
ISBN: 9780299248741
Publication Date: 2012-08-06
In Transforming Ethnographic Knowledge, anthropologists trace the changes they have seen in ethnography as a method and as an intellectual approach, and they offer examples of ethnography's role in social change and its capacity to transform its practitioners.

Subject Librarian

Profile Image
Hannah McKelvey
Contact Info
Renne Library, Rm 220
Montana State University
PO Box 173320
Bozeman, MT 59717-3320
Send Email

Link suggestions?

Please suggest any other links or other materials that you find valuable for possible inclusion on this resources page.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip