This is the "Home" page of the "CHMY194/BCH194 Freshman Seminar" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

CHMY194/BCH194 Freshman Seminar   Tags: chemistry, course_guide  

Chemistry/Biochemistry Freshman Seminar
Last Updated: Sep 15, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.montana.edu/chmy194 Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Structure

Quick Chemical Lookup

SciFinder Registration

To register for SciFinder:

  1. Sign in with your NetID and Password
  2. Click the Register First! link
  3. Click Next
  4. Fill out registration form
  5. You MUST use an email address that ends in montana.edu!

Chemistry/Biochemistry Databases

  • Academic Search Complete
    Broad coverage; can limit to scholarly, peer-review journals
  • Web of Science
    Search Web of Science Core Collection, Index Chemicus, Chemical Reactions, Medline, BIOSIS, and more. Includes citation links. Large database.
  • Medline (on Web of Science)
    Medline is the premiere bio-medical abstracts database. This version of links to MSU Library subscriptions.
  • Credo Reference
    Encyclopedias, handbooks, and dictionaries for a wide variety of topics. Includes access to mind map search for synonyms.
  • Knovel  
      
    Hundreds of engineering & science handbooks in full text: properties, formulas, and equations
  • Reaxys
    Chemical reactions; properties; and physical, spectral, bioactivity, and toxicological data
  • SciFinder Web  
      
    Chemistry articles, patents, properties, and reactions. Most comprehensive chemistry database. NOTE: Must register first!

ACS Style

The American Chemical Society (ACS) uses one citation style in most of its publications: The ACS Style Guide. The latest edition is available in the MSU Library reference collection at QD8.5.A25 2006 and see the links below for online examples.

One example for a journal article. Note that the date is bold and that the journal abbreviation and the volume number are in italics:

Holmgren, S. K.; Bretscher, L. E.; Taylor, K. M.; Raines, R. T. A hyperstable collagen mimic. Chem. Biol. 1999, 6, 63–70.

Your Librarian

Profile Image
Greg Notess
Logo - AIMLogo - Google TalkLogo - LinkedInLogo - Twitter
Contact Info
Montana State University Library
406-994-6563
align@montana.edu
Send Email

Citation Tools

Many tools are available to help track research articles and format citations. These tools can be used to   

  • Save and annotate citations and PDFs
  • Share citations with others
  • Format citations in MS Word
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip