Library Guides: Plant Sciences Research Guide: Sustainable Crop Production

Sustainable Crop Production at MSU

The Sustainable Food and Bioenergy Systems (SFBS) B.S. degree program is an exciting new offering from Montana State University that promotes the sustainable production, distribution, and consumption of food and bioenergy. Students in all four SFBS options take a core curriculum of six courses designed to provide broad exposure to key principles of sustainable food and bioenergy systems. In addition, coursework in each option is specifically designed to create more detailed and subject-specific knowledge in your area of specialization. Students take complementary coursework in political science, economics, business, Native American studies, and engineering. Two internships allow you to gain exposure to 1) hands-on learning in market garden agronomy and food distribution, and 2) an in-depth internship with an experienced mentor in your chosen career field.

Online Resources for Sustainable Crop Production

Alternative Farming Systems Information Center
The Alternative Farming Systems Information Center (AFSIC) specializes in identifying resources about sustainable food systems and practices in support of USDA's effort to ensure a sustainable future for agriculture and farmers worldwide.
Montana Organic Association
Montana Sustainable Growers' Union
National Sustainable Agriculture Information Service
Information and other technical assistance to farmers, ranchers, extension agents, educators, and others involved in sustainable agriculture in the United States.
Organic Agriculture Information Access
The Organic Agriculture Information Access is an electronic collection of historic United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) publications related to organic agriculture. In this collection, there are almost 200 documents published before 1942 (before synthetic chemicals became widely used) that contain state-of-the-art information and data that is still very pertinent for today's agriculture. Access to this data is intended to provide growers with new ideas on crop production without chemicals, as well as help researchers conserve scarce resources by avoiding unintended duplication.
Sustainable Agriculture: Definitions and Terms
From the USDA National Agriculture Library.
Sustainable Agriculture Research & Education
Since 1988, the SARE grants and education program has advanced agricultural innovation that promotes profitability, stewardship of the land, air and water, and quality of life for farmers, ranchers and their communities.

Online Sustainable Crop Production Databases

Agricola
- This link opens in a new window
Articles and journals related to agriculture from the National Agricultural Library.
Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive literature in the environmental sciences (1960 - current)
Includes the following databases:
- AGRICOLA
- TOXLINE
- ESPM (Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management)
- Environmental Impact Statements (EIS)
CAB Direct
- This link opens in a new window
International coverage of agriculture, food, and nutrition
Web of Science
- This link opens in a new window
Large, combined database of scholarly articles, books, and data sets (1637 - current)