Skip to main content
Montana State University - Home Montana State University Library - Home Ask the Library

EndNote

Use this bibliographic management and formatting software to help you manage citations and references throughout the process of writing a research paper.

Search from Within EndNote Web

Search for Citations within Endnote

Use these online search choices to search directly from within EndNote. Only a few public databases work with EndNote Online. More connection files for some of our databases work with the desktop version of EndNote. Most of these connection files work with various library catalogs and a few publicly available databases.

See the EndNote Basic help file for further information. To get to the online search option, use the following steps.

  1. Click the Collect tab
  2. "Online Search" is the default. Click the "Customize this list" link.
  3. Add any of the following to your favorites.
  4. For future searches, just click the "Select" drop down list to go directly to our library catalog, PubMed, or other source.

We suggest the following EndNote Basic Connection Files

 
Database
Connection Name
Library of Congress (largest database for books) Library of Congress
MSU Library Catalog (no longer working as of Jan. 2017) Montana St U-Bozeman
National Park Service Natl Park Service
National Resources Canada Natl Resources Canada
PubMed (Extensive health sciences coverage of journal articles) PubMed (NLM)
USGS Library U.S. Geological Survey
Web of Science (Great for finding journal articles; covers Science, Social Sciences, Arts, & Humanities) Web of Science Core Collection(TS)