This is the "Home" page of the "BMGT 464 - International Management" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

BMGT 464 - International Management   Tags: business, course_guide  

Last Updated: Nov 19, 2012 URL: http://guides.lib.montana.edu/bmgt464 Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Library Databases

Business Source Complete - Use this source to locate Country reports which will provide an overview of the Economic and Political environment.  There are several country reports produced by various publishers.  Any one of them should work well.
To locate a country report

  • Enter Finland in the search box and select Geographic Terms from the drop down menu
  • Select Country report under Publication Type
  • Enter 2012 for Publication date

To locate articles about expatriation, use the following search subject terms

  • employment in foreign countries
  • expatriat*  (this will bring back all variations of the root word expatriat  (such as expatriates, expatriation, expatriating etc.)
  • For articles specifically about expats and Findland, enter Finland in the search box and select Geographic Terms.
 

Internet Resources

Working and Cost of Living

Cost of Living Survey Report - http://icsc.un.org/resources/cold/csr/current/pp/Finland-11.pdf

Published in January 2012, this report provides a cost of living comparison between Helsinki and New York.  It uses an index and weights  so New York numbers will need to be calculated.  Table 5 provides cost of living results.

Working in Finland - http://www.expat-finland.com/pdf/working_in_finland.pdf

Published by The Ministry of Employment and the Economy, this  booklet provides information on commonly asked questions for those moving to Finland.


Cultural Information

Country Insights – Center for Intercultural Learning

This site hosted by the Foreign Affairs and International Trade of Canada serves as a launching point to locate information on a country.  It will link  you to the best web sites on a country’s history, geography, economy, politics, and culture.  In addition, it also provides perspectives on a variety of topics such as communication styles, workplace conflict, hierarchy and decision-making and much more from a Canadian and Native perspective.

 

Business Cultural Guides – http://www.executiveplanet.com/index.php?title=Finland

This is a wiki in which each country page is hosted by an individual(s) living in the country or a professional with experience in cross-cultural communications.  Some entries are still being built.  Entries can include information about making appointments, dressing appropriately, negotiating agreements, managing products and human resources, entertaining and appropriate conversation topics and public behavior.

 

Int’l Business Etiquette and Manners – http://www.cyborlink.com

This page was put together by the Global Leadership MBA Graduates from the University of Texas at Dallas.  Each country page includes an introduction, fun fact, Hofstede analysis and tips on appropriate appearance, behavior and communication.  The list of countries covered appears towards the bottom of the page.

 

Country Etiquette Guides and Doing Business in . . . .  http://www.kwintessential.co.uk/resources/country-profiles.html 

The Kwintessential website contains a great deal of information on intercultural relations.  One section of particular interest is the country etiquette profiles which contain information on a countries culture, customs and business etiquette.

 

Hofstede’s Cultural Dimensions – http://www.geert-hofstede.com

This website complements the articles by Hofstede on the 5 cultural dimensions (Power Distance Index, Individualism, Masculinity, Uncertainty Avoidance Index, and Long Term Orientation).  It provides the indexes for each dimension and then compares it to the average of other countries in its region.

From the home page, click on National culture -- Countries. Select Finland from the drop-down menu.

 

Countries and Their Cultures – www.everyculture.com

This site provides cultural information on a range of countries.  Each entry includes:

Culture Name/Alternative Name
Orientation
History and Ethnic Relations
Urbanism, Architecture and Use of Space
Food and Economy
Social Stratification

Political Life
Non-governmental Organizations
Gender Role and Statuses
Marriage, Family and Kinship
Socialization
Religion
Secular Celebrations
Arts and Humanities
Bibliography

 

Access Services Librarian

Profile Image
Connie Strittmatter
Contact Info
Renne Library, Room 122B
T. 406-994-7708
F. 406-994-2851
Send Email
Subjects:
Business
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip