Library Services
WWW Resources for Art Educators
Reading & Writing Academic Papers
- How to Read an Academic Article (from UW-Bothell)Scan this reading for pointers on gleaning the major points from an academic article.
- Writing the Academic Paper (from Dartmouth Writing Center)Advice for writing academic papers from Dartmouth.
Career/Graduate School Resources
- Testing & Education Reference CenterUse this database to take GRE (and other) practice exams, study the online GRE guide, explore graduate schools, build your resume and more!
- Vault Career LibraryProvides information to more than 3,000 companies, 40 industries, and over fifty career paths, including over ninety full-text career guides, as well as employer profiles, articles, message boards, and advice on careers, resumes, and cover letters.
- Occupational Outlook HandbookSee this U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics resource for information on hundreds of different types of jobs and careers. Find job search tips, plus information about the job market in each state, etc.
Indexes & Databases for Art Educators
Search the following databases to find articles on your topics: possible search terms might include any of the following; try different combinations of relevant terms to do the most exhaustive search on your topic.
arts, creativity, lesson plans, art activities, integrated activities, classroom techniques, children's art, teaching methods, educational strategies, pedagogy, art education, visual arts, artists, interdisciplinary approach, specific subject areas (science, social studies, health enhancement, diversity, multicultural education, American Indians, etc.).
DATABASE SEARCH TIP: within Academic Search Complete, ERIC and other EBSCO databases, you can click on CHOOSE DATABASES and search multiple relevant databases at one time!
Finding books, etc., on the teaching of art
Search the Library Catalog to find books related to teaching elementary or secondary art: try a keyword search on these terms:
art study and teaching elementary
art study and teaching secondary
interdisciplinary approach in education
middle school art
teaching visual arts
any other relevant terms you can think of!
You can also search the Library Catalog by location to find children's books:
-
go into the ADVANCED SEARCH feature
-
limit LOCATION to JUVENILE COLLECTION
-
enter keywords such as art, colors, drawing, etc.
Select books on Art Education
Call Number: N85.R34 2000 StudEd Juvenile K-12 Textbook Collection
ISBN: 9780026624343
Middle school art : issues of curriculum and instruction
Call Number: N362.M533 1996
ISBN: 9780937652787
A survival kit for the secondary school art teacher
Call Number: N363.H86 1990
Visual arts teacher resource handbook : a practical guide for teaching K-12 visual arts
Call Number: CAL -- N353.V59 1993
ISBN: 0527208108
APA resources
Need help to cite sources in APA style?
Library Liaison |
|
Contact Info Renne Library, Rm 117D Montana State University PO Box 173320 Bozeman, MT 59717-3320 406.994.3162, voice 406.994.2851, fax Send Email |
Your librarian |
|
Links: Profile & Guides |


Loading...
