Skip to main content
Montana State University - Home Montana State University Library - Home Ask the Library

LIT 322: British Literature, 1815-1914: The Writing of a Superpower: Artemis: Primary Sources

This guide is intended for students in the Spring 2017 course on 19th century British literature taught by Professor Max Uphaus

What are Primary Sources?

 

 

 

 

 

When you are researching a time period to understand the issues or literature of the time, primary sources may be in print or digital format and may include

  • published materials from the time period such as books, newspaper and magazine articles
  • diaries or correspondence
  • photographs
  • illustrations
  • manuscripts
  • pamphlets, broadsides, or other ephemera 

Your Librarian

What is Artemis: Primary Sources?

Artemis: Primary Sources is a cross-searchable collection of primary source archives. Resources within it are full-text and are subject-indexed.

Use Artemis to search selected historical digital archives simultaneously, including:

  • The London Illustrated News (1843-2003)
  • The Economist (1843-2011)
  • The Sunday Times (London, 1822-2006)
  • and The Times (London, 1785-2008)

Getting Started in Artemis

Access: MSU affiliates may access Artemis on and off campus. If you are off campus, log on using your NetID when prompted. You may ether enter Artemis HERE or do so through the main Library databases page

Select Databases & Search: Use the pull-down arrow beside "Searching 10 of 10 Databases" and select (or de-select) desired databases. For instance, you probably don't want to include "Sabin Americana" or "Indigenous Peoples: North America" in your research on England.

Then type in your term or phrase (using quotation marks to keep words together) and click the Search button.

Some Tips to Remember...

  • Use British spelling (but also try American English spellings). For instance, COLOR becomes COLOUR in British English. For a reminder of basic spelling differences, see the Oxford Dictionaries' British and American Spelling page.
  • The form, use, and meaning of words change over time.  For instance, try searching ETHNICITY and then try ETHNIC.  See the OED (Oxford English Dictionary) to see how words have been used in different eras.
  • For searches that return too many hits, remember all the ways you can narrow your search by using options in the right-hand margin on your results page:
    • by date (choose fewer decades)
    • by document type (article, or advertisement, or fiction, or...)
    • and by publication title or publication subject
  • Use the Modify Search button to go back and add or change terms in your original search
  • For more search help, see the Proquest Search Tips link in the database or go to Ask the Library