This is the "Databases (to find Journal Articles)" page of the "PSCI 437 - International Political Economy" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

PSCI 437 - International Political Economy   Tags: course_guide, economics  

Last Updated: Apr 23, 2012 URL: http://guides.lib.montana.edu/PSCI437 Print Guide RSS Updates

Databases (to find Journal Articles) Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Library-Provided Databases

Databases are research tools that help you locate journal articles on a specific topic.  The MSU Library subscribes to many databases.  Below is a selected list.  However, to see a full list of databases, go to our database page. You can either click on a subject area to see which databases we have or view an alphabetical list.


To identify what is considered Peer-Reviewed/Refereed/Academic/Scholarly,

take a look at this list of guidelines


EconLit - EconLit provides indexing and abstracts of the worldwide literature on economics. It covers 685 major economics journals. Additionally, it indexes 600 collective volumes (essays, proceedings, etc.), 2,000 books, 900 dissertations, 2,000 working papers, and book reviews each year. Coverage is from 1969-present.

Business Source Complete - Business Source Complete covers business, management, finance, accounting, international business, and economics topics with full-text articles, images, and bibliographic citations. The emphasis is scholarly journals and peer-reviewed journals which includes resources on international economics, international industry surveys, and country reports.

NBER Working Papers - The National Bureau of Economic Research s a private, nonprofit, nonpartisan research organization dedicated to promoting a greater understanding of how the economy works. Their publications include working papers, the NBER Reporter and Digest and more.  Coverage is from 1998-present.

Social Science Citation Index - This database is an online index which provides citations to articles from 1900-present.  A wide variety of topics are covered.  This is not a full-text database so be sure to click on "Check MSU Availability" to see if the Library has access to the full-text.  A couple of features to note include:

  • Cited References - If you select the cited references for an article, it will show you a list of sources that the author used when writing the article.
  • Times Cited - This feature will link you to articles that have cited the article you are currently viewing.
  • From the left side of the screen, limit your search to articles and reviews.  You want to avoid editorials and proceedings.

LexisNexis Academic - LexisNexis Academic retrieves the full-text of law review articles which are very well-researched articles usually written by law professors and occassionally students.   Many law review articles will have a focus on international relations. To search for law review articles:

  • Log onto LexisNexis Academic
  • Select Legal from the tab towards the top of the screen.
  • The default search is law reviews.
  • Select the  Natural Language radio button and enter your search terms.
  • Restrict by date if necessary.

Sage Journals Online - This full-text journal package contains several political science journals with coverage ranging back to the mid-1950s. 

Europa World Plus - This source provides detailed country surveys containing the latest analytical, statistical and directory data available for over 250 countries and territories.  A tutorial on how to use this product can be found here.

Librarian

Profile Image
Doralyn Rossmann
Logo - Twitter
Contact Info
Collection Development Librarian/Team Leader
Assistant Professor
Renne Library, Room 150
T. (406) 994-6549
F. (406) 994-5599
email: doralyn@montana.edu
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip