This is the "Locating Scholarly Information" page of the "PSCI 210 - Introduction to American Government" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

PSCI 210 - Introduction to American Government   Tags: course_guide  

Last Updated: Sep 15, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.montana.edu/PSCI210 Print Guide RSS Updates

Locating Scholarly Information Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Library Databases

Op-Ed Assignment

You're writing a op-ed piece on one of 5 topics:

  • Thesis 1: The Constitution should be amended to provide for term limits for members of Congress in both houses.
  • Thesis 2: The Supreme Court’s decision in Citizens United has been beneficial for democracy.
  • Thesis 3: Congressional earmarks should be banned.
  • Thesis 4: The Electoral College should be abolished.
  • Thesis 5: Campaigns do not affect the outcomes of elections.

The Library has databases that can help you gather information on your topic:

Academic Search Complete - Includes scholarly articles, magazines, newspapers, government reports, and books on a variety of topics. It is a good starting point for this assignment.

Business Source Complete - It's not just business here.  This resource includes public policy issues and different perspectives on issues related to this assignment.

CQ Researcher - Offers in-depth, non-biased coverage of  important issues. Each report is on a single topic -- more than 12,000 words of text and extensive bibliographies. Includes arguments on both sides of an issue (see "pros/cons" on the left hand side of reports). Each weekly issue provides up-to-date information on controversial subjects written by CQ's staff of experienced reporters.

Opposing Viewpoints - This database contains book chapters, articles, statistics and news articles representing both sides of an issue.

LexisNexis Academic - Use LN Academic to locate law review articles on your topic.  To search for law reviews:

  • Open LexisNexis Academic,
  • Click on US legal along the left side of the screen
  • Click on Law Reviews

Newspaper Source Plus -- Search for an "editorial" from the "document type drop-down list.  You can further refine your search by limiting to a particular newspaper such as the New York Times.

CatSearch -- Search across the many databases listed above all in one place AND get books in your results, too!

 

Websites

Many organizations have websites from which you may be able to download studies or reports. Below are links to some think tanks. Think tanks often have a distinct ideological perspective; you will want to keep that in mind as you evaluate their reports. The same applies to documents on trade association or similar websites that describe these organization’s positions on particular issues.

Another definition:

A quasi-private, non-teaching academic and policy institute usually, though not always, affiliated with a major political party. At best, they can be generators of legislative and foreign policy ideas. More often, they are career parking places for potential officials in a new administration who are affixed to the party currently in opposition. (Source: think tank. (2002). In Greenwood Encyclopedia of International Relations. Retrieved from http://proxybz.lib.montana.edu/login?qurl=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.credoreference.com/entry/abcintrel/think_tank)

Examples of think tanks:

 

 

 


Librarian

Profile Image
Doralyn Rossmann
Logo - Twitter
Contact Info
Collection Development Librarian/Team Leader
Assistant Professor
Renne Library, Room 150
T. (406) 994-6549
F. (406) 994-5599
email: doralyn@montana.edu
Send Email

Ask a Librarian

Need help? Article unavailable? Looking for more research on a topic? If I'm not available, stop by the reference desk in Renne Library (1st floor) or use the other options below.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip