Library Services
Finding Research Articles
- CINAHL Use for finding research on nutrition and health related topics (database covers nursing, allied health, biomedicine, and consumer health).
- Medline on Web of Science (links to MSU Journal holdings) Use for nutrition & health related research: covers medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences. Original MEDLINE interface available at http://pubmed.gov/
- Oregon PDF in Health & Performance 10,000 thesis and dissertations focused on the intellectual area of physical activity. Subjects covered include biochemistry, biomechanics, dance, exercise physiology, history or philosophy of physical education, kinesiology, motor control, obesity, recreation, sports marketing, sports medicine, sports pedagogy, sports psychology, and tests and measurements.
- PsycInfo International literature in psychology and related behavioral and social sciences, including psychiatry, sociology, anthropology, education, pharmacology, and linguistics.
- SportDiscusIndexes the literature in recreation, exercise physiology, sports medicine, coaching, physical fitness, the psychology, history, and sociology of sport, training, and conditioning.
- Web of Knowledge (includes Biological Abs, Medline and Web of Science) This combined database searches the Web of Science databases (Science Citation Index and Social Science Citation Index), Medline, Biological Abstracts, and Zoological Record.
- Other Nutrition and Health databasesSee other health related databases to help you with your research.
- Academic Search CompleteA large interdisciplinary database with some full text of articles.
- InfoTrac PowerSearchA very large interdisciplinary database with some full text.
APA resources
Need help to cite sources in APA style?
Possible search terms and combinations
Research strategy: for your topic, break out the various pieces of your research topic and think of any alternative ways that a topic/term might be verbalized. Note that you might also combine any of the following with specific sports, such as skiing, football, basketball, etc., depending on your interest and topic.
Muscle strength and delayed onset muscle soreness
Muscle strength and doms
flexion-relaxation and back muscle activation
flexion-relaxation and back muscle* (*the asterisk is a truncation symbol for retrieving multiple forms of a term)
Stretching and Strength/Weakness/Inhibition
Sample searches could include any of the following:
stretch* and strength
stretch* and weakness
stretch* and inhibition
stretch* and (strength or weakness or inhibition)
Stretching and Speed
Sample search = stretch* and speed
Stretching and Vertical Jump
Sample search = stretch* and vertical
jump (any other way to verbalize
vertical jump?)
Eccentric exercise/training or resistance training and Weakness/delayed onset muscle soreness
Sample searches – (you might need to run just one of these searches or all of them in order to find sufficient information, depending on how much info you need)
Eccentric exercise and weakness
Eccentric exercise and delayed onset muscle soreness
Eccentric training and weakness
Eccentric training and delayed onset muscle soreness
Resistance training and weakness
Resistance training and delayed onset muscle soreness
Relationship between quadriceps strength (and/or contraction velocity) and vertical jump
Sample searches:
Quadriceps and strength and vertical jump
Quadriceps and contraction and vertical jump
Relationship between knee injury/surgery and quadriceps strength/weakness
knee injur* and quadriceps and strength
Knee and injury and quadriceps and strength
Knee and surgery and quadriceps and strength
Knee and injury and quadriceps and weakness
Knee and surgery and quadriceps
and weakness
Knee and injury and surgery and quadriceps and (strength or weakness)
OR (knee and (injury or surgery)) and (quadriceps and (strength or weakness))
Magazines vs. Journals: What's the difference?
Scholarly
Journals
- Authors are experts/authorities in their fields.
- Authors cite their sources in endnotes, footnotes, or bibliographies.
- Individual issues have little or no advertising.
- Articles must go through a peer-review process (experts in the discipline evaluate each author's work before any articles are published).
- Articles are usually reports on scholarly research.
- Illustrations usually take the form of charts and graphs.
- Articles use jargon of the discipline.
- Articles are typically five or more
pages in length.
Popular
Magazines
- Authors are magazine staff members/regular columnists or free lance writers.
- Authors often mention sources, but rarely formally cite them in bibliographies.
- Individual issues contain numerous advertisements.
- There is no peer review process.
- Articles are meant to inform and entertain (thus they are also thought of as consumer publications because they are published for a wide audience).
- Illustrations are numerous and colorful.
- Language is geared to the general adult audience (no specialized knowledge of jargon needed).
- Articles are typically fairly short (one or two columns to one or a few pages).
Library Liaison |
|
Contact Info Renne Library, Rm 117D Montana State University PO Box 173320 Bozeman, MT 59717-3320 406.994.3162, voice 406.994.2851, fax mhansen@montana.edu Send Email |
Ask a Librarian
Need help? Article unavailable? Ask Us!
Career & Grad School Info
Health care careers directory, from the American Medical Association.
Located at call number REF R847. D57 (in Reference Collection, 1st floor)
The health professions: trends and opportunities in U.S. health care by Stephanie Chisolm.
Located at call number R690.C448 2007 (3rd floor)
Occupational Outlook Handbook from the US Bureau of Labor Statistics: http://www.bls.gov/OCO/
Vault database - Vault Online Career Library – info on 3,000 companies, 40 industries, over fifty career paths, resumes, and cover letters. Located online -- “Articles (Indexes & Databases)” page under the BUSINESS category or alphabetically.
Testing & Education Reference Center Use to study for the GRE, MCAT, LSAT – free access to study guides and sample tests. Also research graduate programs. Located online -- “Articles (Indexes & Databases)” page under the HHD or EDUCATION categories or alphabetically.
Loading...
