This is the "Finding Articles" page of the "HSTR 419 History of Modern Science Fall 2013" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

HSTR 419 History of Modern Science Fall 2013   Tags: course_guide, history  

This guide is intended for students in Professor Reidy's History of Modern Science Course, Fall 2013
Last Updated: Jun 11, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.montana.edu/History419Reidy Print Guide RSS Updates

Finding Articles Print Page
  Search: 
 

Finding Full Text

The full text of many articles is available through our databases.  If the full text of a specific article doesn't seem to be linked directly from the database, here are your other options for getting the full text.

 

Use  within a database.  If the article is in a journal to which we subscribe, you will either be linked right to that article (electronic access) or be linked into the library catalog to get a call number so you can find the journal in the library (print access).  If we don't subscribe to the journal, you will find a link to get in to interlibrary loan (the Request It! service) - make a request and we will get a copy from another library for you.

If you have a citation for which you are trying to find full text, use the Journals by Title list to look for the journal by title.  The JournaList is a list of all our periodical holdings, both electronic and print.  If we subscribe, the Journals by Title list is a quick way to find that out. If we do have the journal, you will be linked to electronic access or to the catalog to get a call number.  The Journal by Title list can be found on the library's home page in the FIND area.

If the library does not subscribe to a journal, you can request your article through interlibrary loan (Request It!) and we will get a copy for you from another library.  You log in to your Request It! account (formerly ILLiad) using the same username and password you use for D2L (Net/ID and associated password).   You can get  to interlibrary loan from the library's home page in the REQUEST area.

Find Journal, Magazine, & Newspaper Articles

The resources listed below are just some of the subject-focused indexes to journal and magazine articles available through the MSU Libraries. Go to our indexes and databases page to see all of your options. Many of the online indexes provide easy access to the full-text of articles; other older indexes are in print format and you may need help finding the text of the articles you identify in them. The list below includes databases of both primary and secondary sources. If you need a human being's input: ASK FOR HELP!  

  • Academic Search Complete (1975 or so to present)
    Access the full text of multi-disciplinary popular magazine and academic journal articles -- dates vary but most content does not go back further than the 1970s.
  • America: History and Life (1963-present)
    Find scholarly journal articles covering all periods in the fields of U.S. and Canadian history.
  • American Periodicals Series Online (1741-mid 20th C)
    This online database includes digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the mid-20th century. Find advertisements, illustrations, and the full text of articles.
  • British Periodicals (Late 17th century to early 20th century)
    Find facsimile page images and searchable full text for nearly 500 British periodicals published from the 17th through the early 20th centuries. Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the fine arts and the social sciences.
  • Historical Newspapers (1851-2004)
    Search the full-text of New York Times (1851-2004), Wall Street Journal (1889-1990) and Washington Post (1877-1991) simultaneously.
  • Industrial Arts Index (1913-1957)
    This is a PRINT index located on the 3rd floor (REFERENCE T1.A66) to journal and trade articles on important events, issues and trends in the history of business and industry from 1913 to 1957. An excellent resource for tracking down important studies, exploring historical controversies, finding papers by innovators, researching the development of a particular technology, and more.
  • JSTOR (varies: 1800s to last three years)
    Offers full-text access to scholarly journals across disciplines, but mainly in the humanities and social sciences. Journal titles are fully digitized from their first volume through all but the most current 3 years.
  • Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature (1900-2001)
    This is a PRINT index to magazine articles published between 1900-2001. The index volumes (generally one published per year) are currently located in the 3rd floor Reference stacks at AI3.R4. Ask for help at the Reference desk.
  • ScienceDirect (Includes current subscriptions and some backfiles)
    Contains abstracts, tables of contents, and full text of articles in the sciences, technology, medicine and social sciences, as well as book chapters. There are currently more than 9.5 million articles/chapters, a content base that is growing at a rate of almost 0.5 million per year.

  • Web of Science (1864-present)
    This combined database searches the Web of Science Core Collection databases (Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Conference Proceedings Citation Index, Book Citation Index, Current Chemical Reactions, Index Chemicus), Journal Citation Reports, Derwent Innovations Index, Medline, BIOSIS, and Zoological Record.
  • Additional Subject Databases at MSU
    Explore additional MSU subscription databases in various subject areas such as Biography, Biology, Engineering, Environmental Sciences, Physics, etc.
  • More History Databases at MSU
    Including databases focused on finding government documents, biographical information, Native American resources, MSU extension publications, and much more.
  • Google Scholar
    A fairly simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. To get access to MSU subscribed journals, go to Settings => Library Links => then search for Montana State University in the dialog box.

Librarian

Profile Image
Jan Zauha: Reference Librarian, Professor
Contact Info
117C Renne Library
Voice: 406-994-6554
Fax: 406-994-2851
Send Email
Video Interview:
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip