Library Services
Find Magazine & Journal Articles
The resources listed below are just some of the subject-focused indexes to journal and magazine articles available through the MSU Libraries. Go to our Articles and Research Databases page to see all of your options. Many of the online indexes provide easy access to the full-text of articles; but ASK FOR HELP! if you run into any problems.
- Academic Search Complete (1975 or so to present)Access the full text of multi-disciplinary popular magazine and academic journal articles -- dates vary but most content does not go back further than the 1970s.
- America: History and Life (1963-present)Find scholarly journal articles covering all periods in the fields of U.S. and Canadian history.
- American Periodicals Series Online (1741-mid 20th C)This online database includes digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the mid-20th century. Find advertisements, illustrations, and the full text of articles.
- American West: Sources from the Everett D. Graff Collection (1700s-mid 1900s)The Graff Collection is a full text, full image database from the Newberry Library in Chicago that allows scholars to explore many areas of history in the American West through a mixture of original manuscripts, maps, ephemeral material and rare printed sources.
- Historical Newspapers (1851-varies)Search the full-text of New York Times (1851-2004), San Francisco Chronicle (1865-1922), Washington Post (1877-1991), and Wall Street Journal (1889-present) simultaneously. See also the Newspapers tab in this Guide.
- JSTOR (varies: 1800s to last three years)Offers full-text access to scholarly journals across disciplines, but mainly in the humanities and social sciences. Journal titles are fully digitized from their first volume through all but the most current 3 years.
- Additional Subject Databases at MSULook for information about your community and/or industry in the literature of economics, law, agriculture, the news...
- More History Databases at MSUIncluding databases focused on finding government documents, biographical information, Native American resources, MSU extension publications, historical newspapers, and much more.
Finding Full Text
The full text of many articles is available through our databases. If the full text of a specific article doesn't seem to be linked directly from the database, here are your other options for getting the full text.
Use the
link within a database. If the article is in a journal to which we subscribe, you will either get linked right to that article (electronic access) or be linked into the library catalog to get a call number so you can find the journal in the library (print access). If we don't subscribe to the journal, you will find a link to get in to Request It! for interlibrary loan - make a request and we will get a copy from another library for you.
If you have a citation for which you are trying to find full text, use the Journals by Title list to look for the journal by title. Journals by Title lists all our periodicals holdings, both electronic and print. If we subscribe, this list is a quick way to find that out. Again, if we do have the journal, you will be linked to electronic access or to the catalog to get a call number.
If the library does not subscribe to a journal, you can request your article through interlibrary loan and we will get a copy for you from another library. You log in to Request It!, the Library's interlibrary loan service, using the same username and password you use for D2L (Net/ID and associated password).
Librarian |
Links: Profile & Guides Subjects: English Literature, History, Composition, Philosophy, Religious Studies, Women's & Gender Studies, Liberal Studies, American Studies Video Interview: |

Loading...
