The full text of many articles is available through our databases. If the full text of a specific article doesn't seem to be linked directly from the database, here are your other options for getting the full text.
Use the link within a database. If the article is in a journal to which we subscribe, you will either get linked right to that article (electronic access) or be linked into the library catalog to get a call number so you can find the journal in the library (print access). If we don't subscribe to the journal, you will find a link to get in to Request It! for interlibrary loan - make a request and we will get a copy from another library for you.
If you have a citation for which you are trying to find full text, use the Journals by Title list to look for the journal by title. Journals by Title lists all our periodicals holdings, both electronic and print. If we subscribe, this list is a quick way to find that out. Again, if we do have the journal, you will be linked to electronic access or to the catalog to get a call number.
If the library does not subscribe to a journal, you can request your article through interlibrary loan and we will get a copy for you from another library. You log in to Request It!, the Library's interlibrary loan service, using the same username and password you use for D2L (Net/ID and associated password).
Listed here are some of the secondary source databases available through the MSU Libraries of most interest to history scholars. In them you'll find scholarly articles about historical topics. Older secondary sources can also morph into primary sources, depending on how they are used. For instance, a scholarly article written about Yellowstone in the 1950s can reveal what was known or thought about the park at that time.