Last Updated: Jan 26, 2012
- Authors are experts/authorities in their
- Authors cite their sources in endnotes,
footnotes, or bibliographies.
- Individual issues have little or no
- Articles must go through a peer-review
process (experts in the discipline evaluate each author's work before any
articles are published).
- Articles are usually reports on
- Illustrations usually take the form of
charts and graphs.
- Articles use jargon of the discipline.
- Articles are typically five or more
pages in length.
- Authors are magazine staff
members/regular columnists or free lance writers.
- Authors often mention sources, but
rarely formally cite them in bibliographies.
- Individual issues contain numerous
- There is no peer review process.
- Articles are meant to inform and
entertain (thus they are also thought of as consumer publications because
they are published for a wide audience).
- Illustrations are numerous and colorful.
- Language is geared to the general adult
audience (no specialized knowledge of jargon needed).
- Articles are typically fairly short (one
or two columns to one or a few pages).
You might start researching your topic in an interdisciplinary database such as Academic Search Complete or InfoTrac. If you don't find adequate sources, try one or more discipline specific databases, listed below or through the "All Databases for Finding Articles" link in the lefthand column.
- Academic Search Complete
Covers social sciences, humanities, education, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and more.
- InfoTrac PowerSearch
Our largest database: includes the entire content of five other databases: InfoTrac General OneFile , Academic OneFile, Opposing Viewpoints Reference Center, InfoTrac Custom Newspapers, and the Gale Virtual Reference Library.
- News and Current Events
Some topics may lend themselves to finding newspaper articles, especially if you're researching current events.
Covers nursing, allied health, biomedicine, and consumer health literature.
International literature in psychology and related behavioral and social sciences.
Try the ERIC database for topics such as school/campus drug prevention programs, etc.
Need help to cite sources in APA style?