This is the "Library and Web Resources" page of the "FCS 465 - Family Law and Public Policy" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

FCS 465 - Family Law and Public Policy   Tags: course_guide  

Last Updated: Aug 19, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.montana.edu/FCS465 Print Guide RSS Updates

Library and Web Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Library Databases

There are several library databases that can be used to locate information related to your topic.  These databases include peer-reviewed articles, law review articles and magazines.  Below are some suggested Library Resources for you to use.

Database

Content

Dates

LexisNexis Academic

 

Full text of law review articles, state and federal court cases and statutes news wires, and more.

Varies

Social Science Citation Index

 

Includes bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references found in over 1,700 social science journals. Covers the social and behavioral sciences, including management, law, and economics.

 

1900-present

LexisNexis Congressional

Offers detailed information about the U.S. Congress and the full-text of regulatory and statutory resources. It can be used for tracking legislation, researching laws, and finding committee membership and actions. It includes the Historical Indexes for indexing of Congressional documents and unpublished hearings back to 1789.

1789-present

 PsycInfo, {A KEY DATABASE for researching topics in this class!}

 

 Provides access to the international literature in psychology and related behavioral and social sciences.

1887 - present

Academic Search Premier

 

This full-text and bibliographic database covers the social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and more.

1990s-present

Web Resources

Websites

Thomas – http://thomas.loc.gov

Bill Text (101st Congress (1989)-present) This database is updated daily when Congress is in session. Keyword searching can be used to locate proposed legislation. Limiting options include specifying which Chamber the bill was introduced, limiting to bills that have received floor action or have been enrolled to the President, and the timeframe in which the bill was introduced. A search can also be done by bill or resolution number.

Bill Summary and Status (93rd Congress (1973)-present) This database is updated every 24-48 hours. This database contains the summary of bills and tracks their progress through the legislative process. Users can search by keyword or by bill number.

 

Social Science Research Network – www.ssrn.com

Social Science Research Network (SSRN) is devoted to the rapid worldwide dissemination of social science research and is composed of a number of specialized research networks in each of the social sciences. The SSRN eLibrary consists of two parts: an Abstract Database containing abstracts on over 203,400 scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers and an Electronic Paper Collection currently containing over 164,600 downloadable full text documents in Adobe Acrobat pdf format.

 Government websites: Check the government agency that may be overseeing your issue.

 

Think Tanks

 

This link, http://www.childwelfare.com/kids/think%20tanks.htm, contains a list of think tanks relating to child welfare and other family policy issues.  It can be used as a starting point to locate resources related to your topics. 

Brookings Institution –Center on Families and Children - http://www.brookings.edu/ccf.aspx

The Center on Children and Families studies policies that affect the well-being of America's children and their parents, especially children in less advantaged families. The Center addresses the issues of poverty, inequality, and lack of opportunity in the United States and seeks to find more effective means of addressing these problems.
Priorities -
Over the next several years the Center will give particular attention to the following issues:

  • Low-income working families and policies designed to improve their economic prospects;
  • Economic mobility and opportunity in the United States and investments in children, such as preschool programs, that could improve their chances to get ahead;
  • The growth of single-parent families caused by early unwed childbearing and the decline of marriage; and
  • Fiscal problems at the federal and state levels and steps that might be taken to ensure fiscal responsibility while minimizing cuts in effective programs targeted to this group.

Urban Institute - http://www.urban.org/

Their mission is “to promote sound social policy and public debate on national priorities, the Urban Institute gathers and analyzes data, conducts policy research, evaluates programs and services, and educates Americans on critical issues and trends”  The focus on the following issues:

Crime / Justice

Economy / Taxes

Education

Health / Healthcare

Housing

Welfare

Work / Income

 

 

      

    Library Liaison

    Profile Image
    Mary Anne Hansen
    Contact Info
    Renne Library, Rm 117D
    Montana State University
    PO Box 173320
    Bozeman, MT 59717-3320
    406.994.3162, voice
    406.994.2851, fax
    Send Email

    Ask a Librarian

    Need help? Article unavailable? Looking for more research on a topic? If I'm not available, stop by the Research Center in the Renne Library (1st floor) or use the other options below.

     

    Library Miscellanea

    Accessing Databases from Off-Campus

    To access the Libraries' databases and e-journals from off-campus, you can use your NetId username and password.  Alternatively, you can use your student ID number and library password.  More information about Library Passwords can be found here.

    EndNote Web

    This bibliographic management and formatting software can help you manage citations and references throughout the process of writing a research paper. Endnote Web can help:

    1. Organize references
    2. Format bibliographies in APA, MLA, Chicago, and hundreds of other styles
    3. Store references from Web of Science and other databases.

    For more assistance with Endnote Web, consider attending a Wednesday Workshop session on the topic.  Workshop topics and dates and times can be found at http://www.lib.montana.edu/instruction/workshops.php

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip