This is the "Websites for Country Information" page of the "Locating Country Information" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Locating Country Information   Tags: subject_guide  

Last Updated: Aug 7, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.montana.edu/CountryInformation Print Guide RSS Updates

Websites for Country Information Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Internet Resources

 BuyUsa.gov – U.S. Department of Commerce

This site can serve as a nice springboard for researching business opportunities in other countries.  Information varies by country. If there is a country commerical guide for your country, it can provide valuable information on selling U.S. products and services, the leading sectors for U.S. export and investments, trade regulations and stardards, investment climate, trade and project financing and market research.

 

The World Factbook – CIA 

This factbook provides information on geography, people, government, economy, communications, transportation, military and transnational issues.  It provides basic facts on each of these issues for each country.



Background Notes – Department of State 

These publications include facts about the land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations of nations. The Background Notes are updated/revised by the Office of Electronic Information and Publications of the Bureau of  Affairs as they are received from the Department's regional bureaus.

 

Country Studies – Library of Congress 

The Country Studies Series presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world. The series examines the interrelationships of those systems and the ways they are shaped by cultural factors.

 

 

Country Insights – Center for Intercultural Learning

This site hosted by the Foreign Affairs and International Trade of Canada serves as a launching point to locate information on a country.  It will link  you to the best web sites on a country’s history, geography, economy, politics, and culture.  In addition, it also provides perspectives on a variety of topics such as communication styles, workplace conflict, hierarchy and decision-making and much more from a Canadian and Native perspective.

 

Market Research Library

You need to register to use this resource and the industries are limited. However, if you can find a market research report for your product and country, you will have information on market demand, barriers, and entry.

 

World Data on Education – International Bureau of Education

Provides overview of education systems of countries.  Some reports may be in their native language.

 

Culturegrams (http://bozemanpubliclibrary.org/ )

This resources is available at the Bozeman Public Library.  You can either use it onsite or log-on remotely with your BPL card number (not MSU).  This database provides a 4 page report on your country encompassing the social and cultural issue as well as basic information on the economy and government.

 

Countries and Their Cultures – www.everyculture.com

This site provides cultural information on a range of countries.  Each entry includes:

Culture Name/Alternative Name
Orientation
History and Ethnic Relations
Urbanism, Architecture and Use of Space
Food and Economy
Social Stratification

Political Life
Non-governmental Organizations
Gender Role and Statuses
Marriage, Family and Kinship
Socialization
Religion
Secular Celebrations
Arts and Humanities
Bibliography

 

Business Cultural Guides – http://www.executiveplanet.com

This is a wiki in which each country page is hosted by an individual(s) living in the country or a professional with experience in cross-cultural communications.  Some entries are still being built.  Entries can include information about making appointments, dressing appropriately, negotiating agreements, managing products and human resources, entertaining and appropriate conversation topics and public behavior.

 

Int’l Business Etiquette and Manners – http://www.cyborlink.com

This page was put together by the Global Leadership MBA Graduates from the University of Texas at Dallas.  Each country page includes an introduction, fun fact, Hofstede analysis and tips on appropriate appearance, behavior and communication.  The list of countries covered appears towards the bottom of the page.

 

Country Etiquette Guides and Doing Business in . . . .  http://www.kwintessential.co.uk/resources/country-profiles.html  and http://www.kwintessential.co.uk/etiquette/doing-business-in.html

The Kwintessential website contains a great deal of information on intercultural relations.  Two sections of particular interest are the country etiquette profiles which contain information on a countries culture, customs and business etiquette.  The Doing Business in . . . provides a brief overview of appropriate behavior when conducting business in a country. 

 

Hofstede’s Cultural Dimensions – http://www.geert-hofstede.com

This website complements the articles by Hofstede on the 5 cultural dimensions (Power Distance Index, Individualism, Masculinity, Uncertainty Avoidance Index, and Long Term Orientation).  It provides the indexes for each dimension and then compares it to the average of other countries in its region.

Your Librarian

Profile Image
Greg Notess
Logo - AIMLogo - Google TalkLogo - LinkedInLogo - Twitter
Contact Info
Montana State University Library
406-994-6563
align@montana.edu
Send Email

Ask a Librarian

Need help? Article unavailable? Looking for more research on a topic? If I'm not available, stop by the reference desk in Renne Library (1st floor) or use the other options below.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip