Library Databases
- IbisWorld Industry ReportIBISWorld is one of the world's richest sources of unique and comprehensive business intelligence information. IBISWorld extensively covers over 900 industries, the major enterprises in those industries and the business conditions they face, providing you with valuable strategic and tactical business environment information.
This database is useful for business to business relationships. - Standard Rate & Data ServiceThis database offers insights that help clients throughout the marketing cycle, including: advertising expenditure data, audience research for all types of media, competitive intelligence and consumer behavior.
You can locate advertising costs and circulation totals for magazines, information on direct marketing and more. - Business Source CompleteYou can locate market research reports by industry.
**Enter words that describe your industry (i.e. home furnishing)
**From the result screen, limit your search by Source Type.
**Click on Show More
**Check Market Research Reports
**Click on Update - Simply MapSimplyMap is an Internet-based mapping application that enables users to develop interactive thematic maps and reports using thousands of demographic, business, and marketing data variables. This trial includes access to the EASI Standard Package, which includes data from the year 2000, 2010, Current Estimates, Five Year Projections, the Historical Package, EASI MRI & Life Stages Package, D&B's Complete US Company Database, Experian SimmonsLOCALand Nielsen Claritas PRIZM Data Packages.
NOTE: This is trial database. Access is only available through MARCH 8, 2013 - Mintel Oxygen & InspireMintel Oxygen rovides easy and fast access to consumer and market insight. . Mintel Inspire is a trend analysis service that monitors, tracks and interprets consumer behavior. With Mintel Inspire, you will not only be aware of the changes happening today, but tomorrow's forecast. You will have access to how people think and behave in key demographic groups.
This database is useful to locate marketing and consumer data for an industry.
NOTE: This is a trial database and access is only available through FEBRUARY 8, 2013.
Demographic and Census Data

Consumer Expenditure Survey - Consists of two surveys, the quarterly Interview Survey and the Diary Survey, that provide information on the buying habits of American consumers, including data on their expenditures, income, and consumer unit (families and single consumers) characteristics. The survey data are collected for the Bureau of Labor Statistics by the U.S. Census Bureau.

Consumer and Economic Information Center (CEIC) - This site is hosted by the Montana Department of Commerce. The demographics and economics section of this site contains a wealth of information on the make-up of Montana citizens.
Under demographics, users can locate:
- population estimates
- poverty estimates
- health insurance and
- housing estimates.
Under economics, users can locate:
- BearFacts (State and County Narratives); State and County Personal and Per Capita Income, Average Wage Per Job, Wage and Salary; Gross Domestic Product by State
- Construction permits
- County and Zip Business patterns
- Local employment dynamics
Sources for Creating a Marketing Plan
Access Services Librarian |
Links: Profile & Guides Subjects: Business |
Access Databases Remotely
Accessing Databases from Off-Campus
To access the Libraries' databases and e-journals from off-campus, you can use your NetId username and password. To locate your NetID and set up a password, go to http://password.montana.edu/
Ask a Librarian
Need help? Article unavailable? Looking for more research on a topic? If I'm not available, stop by the reference desk in Renne Library (1st floor) or use the other options below.
Loading...
