Last Updated: Feb 10, 2014
Below are selected books located in MSU Library that relate to employee rewards, motivation, and incentives. Browse books in these call number areas to locate more on this topic.
Additional books on this topic can be found on the 2nd floor under the call number HF5549.5.
1001 ways to reward employees
Call Number: HF5549.5.I5N45 1994
Publication Date: 1994
This book reviews the various ways to reward employees from financial incentives, recognition and praise and formal reward programs.
To locate the number of employees, sales, and stock price of a company, there are several databases you can use. Mergent which is listed below will help you locate this information quickly.
Information about careers and benefits for the assigned companies are below. These are selected links but you are strongly encouraged to explore their websites for additional information or contact information.
- Amazon Careers
This page links to information about Amazon careers, benefits, employee stock, and Amazon Citizenship.
- Lowe's Careers
This page provides information about careers at Lowe's. Be sure to explore the "Why Lowe's" and the "Military" tab for information on their commitment to employing veterans, benefits, ongoing education, and diversity policy.
- Lowe's Social Responsibility
Outlines social responsibility initiatives in the workplace, community, and environment.
- Seattle Seahawks Employment
This page links to the Seattle Seahawks mission statement.
- Seattle Seahawks- NFL League Employment
This webpage links to information about league benefits, values, and the NFL's commitment to diversity.
- Sirius XM Radio Careers
This link provides information about career paths at Sirius XM Radio and also includes links to their employee benefits page and information on their commitment to diversity.
- Southwest Airlines Careers
This page links to company culture information, benefits, and their commitment to diversity and employing veterans.
- Southwest Airlines Company Culture
This link takes you to information about SWA company culture, including information about volunteer and service efforts, social gatherings to motivate employees, and ongoing education to enhance personal and professional development.
- Southwest Airlines One Report
The SWA One Report features detailed information about the company's financial, social, and environmental performance.
- W.L. Gore & Associates- About Gore
This webpage provides information and additional about Gore, including information on the company culture and culture of diversity.
- W.L. Gore & Associates Careers
This page links to information about benefits, growth & development, and more.
Some of these library resources and websites may provide additional information about incentives and motivation of employees.
- Vault Career Library
To access this database, you need to complete a basic registration form. This library database provides company information including overview of the culture of the organization from employee perspectives, getting hired, benefits and disadvantages to working at the organization.
NOTE: Vault has entries for all three companies.
- Business Source Complete
Subject terms to locate articles on incentives and motivation are:
incentives in industry
employee fringe benefits
You can combine these terms with a company's name.
To locate Case Studies of an organization's experience with motivation or incentive plans perform this search:
From the main search page, select case study under Document Type.
Type incentive OR motivat* in the 1st search box and employ*
- Business and Company Resource Center
Each company has a rankings tab in which they are ranked in various areas. To find the rankings, enter the company name in the search box and select the rankings tab.
- 100 Best Companies to Work For
- Bureau of Labor Statistics on Pay and Benefits
BLS publishes a large amount of information on the wages, earnings, and benefits of workers. Generally, this information is categorized in the following ways:
* Geographic area (national, regional, State, metropolitan area, or county data)
* Occupation (such as teacher or carpenter)
* Industry (such as manufacturing or retail trade)
- Society for Human Resource Management
The Society for Human Resource Management (SHRM) is the world’s largest association devoted to human resource management.
There are many reports on this site. Some can only be accessed through a membership or purchased.
Need help? Article unavailable? Looking for more research on a topic? If I'm not available, stop by the reference desk in Renne Library (1st floor) or use the other options below.
Below are a list of journals that may contain information relevant to your topic. The best way to search for these journals is through Business Source Complete where they are all indexed.
Compensation & Benefits Review
Wall Street Journal
Harvard Business Review
Benefits & Compensation Digest
Report on Salary Surveys
Journal of Compensation & Benefits
Compensation & Benefits Report
US News & World Report
Academy of Management Perspectives
Academy of Management Executive