Last Updated: Mar 22, 2013
To locate articles or books on your research topic, you may want to try these resources.
- Business Source Complete
Excellent database that contains a wide variety of information on business related topics.
- Business: The Ultimate Resource
This practical book provides two page overviews of hundreds of business related topics. Use the index to see if your topic is covered.
Location: Reference Call Number HD38.15.B878 2006
Below are some sources that can be useful when evaluating career prospects.
- Occupational Outlook Handbook
This title is a "nationally recognized source of career information, designed to provide valuable assistance to individuals making decisions about their future work lives."
Each position contains information in the following areas:
Nature of the Work
Training, Other Qualifications, and Advancement
Sources of Additional Information
You can browse by broad career field or use the index to locate a specific career.
- BLS Resources for Job Seekers
This site links to several Bureau of Labor Statistics sources that aid researcher in job-seeking prospects.
- BLS Wage Data by Area and Occupation
View average hourly and annual salaries and number of employees in the occupation on a national or state level.
Tables of particular use are:
National Wage Data for over 800 occupations
Wage Data by State
- Vault Career Library
To access this database, you need to complete a basic registration form. This library database provides information on professions, career advice, and salaries and wages.
These sources may help with memos on educational degrees or general university issues.
Need help? Article unavailable? Looking for more research on a topic? If I'm not available, stop by the reference desk in Renne Library (1st floor) or use the other options below.