Library Services
See the related tutorials on the tabs at the top of this guide.
Comments (0)
Ask a Librarian
Need help? Article unavailable? Looking for more research on a topic? Stop by the reference desk in Renne Library (1st floor) to ask or use the other options below.
MSU Library Books
Search the MSU Libraries Catalog for insects as a subject to get some 103 general titles. Note the subsequent subjects connected with insects. These may give you some direction to your final project choices. Some examples follow.
Insights from Insects: What Bad Bugs Can Teach Us
Call Number: SB931.W249 2005 (4th floor)
ISBN: 1591022770
Bugs in the System: Insects and Their Impact on Human Affairs
Call Number: QL463.B46 1995 (4th floor)
Insect Poetics
Call Number: PN56.I63I57 2006 (2nd floor)
Insect Biodiversity: Science and Society
Call Number: QL463.I65 2009 (3rd floor)
Insectopedia
Call Number: QL463.R34 2010 (3rd floor)
Man Eating Bugs: The Art and Science of Eating Insects
Call Number: GN409.5.M46 1998 (2nd floor)
Ane's Encyclopedic Dictionary of General & Applied Entomology
Call Number: QL462.3 .D48 2008 eb [electronic resource]
A Dictionary of Entomology
Call Number: QL462.3.G67 2001 (Reference)
Articles (Indexes/Databases)
Here are some tools to find insect and society-related articles in the popular and professional literature.
- Biological Abstracts Extensive biosciences coverage of the journal literature.
- Medline (on Web of Science) Professional health sciences journal articles. Includes Check MSU Availability.
- Medline via FirstSearch Covers all areas of medicine, including dentistry and nursing.
- Web of Science Coverage of various fields of science and social sciences
- ScienceDirect Includes Biochemistry, Biological Sciences, Chemistry, Clinical Medicine, Environmental Science, Microbiology & Immunology, Neurosciences, Pharmacology & Toxicology, and Social Sciences.
- SPORTDiscus Sports medicine, psychology, history, and sociology; physical fitness, training, recreation
- WorldCat Find materials for interlibrary loaning.
- AccessScience: McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology Online Featuring fully searchable content from McGraw-Hill's Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, 10th Edition.
- ArticleFirst Index of articles from the contents pages of journals.
- Oxford English Dictionary Definitions, etymology, and usage of English-language words
- Dissertation Abstracts Dissertation and thesis abstracts related to insects and society
- Academic OneFile Interdisciplinary coverage of academic journals and supporting information
- Academic Search Premier Scholarly and popular articles by subject
- AgEcon Search Agricultural economics papers
- Agricola USDA publications, agriculture, and nutrition
- CAB DirectCovers the subject of agriculture in the broadest sense. It includes: agronomy, biotechnology, crop protection, dairy science, economics, environmental degradation and remediation, forestry, genetics, herbicides, irrigation, leisure, recreation and tourism, microbiology, nutrition, parasitology, rural development, veterinary medicine, and much more.
- Anthropological Literature Scholarly articles in anthropology and archaeology
- UlrichsWebResource to determine peer-reviewed (academic, refereed) publications
- Google Scholar (through MSU Library)Searches a broad collection of full text journals, technical reports, preprints, and other academic documents. Provides Check MSU Availability links for results.
Web Resources
- Journal vs. Magazine
- Iowa State Entomology Index of Internet ResourcesThe directory and search engine of insect-related resources on the Web
- Insects in Music, Art and PoetryFrom an entomology lecture at Oregon State University
- Science: EntomologyProvides links to other entomology resources.
- Systematic Entomology: Taxonomic Index of ResourcesSearch for resources by common names or by orders of insects.
- The Food Insects NewsletterThe vision of this of this is to make this web site the most important source in the world for useful information about the sustainability, and the economic and nutritional value of using insects as food for humans and other animals.
- United States Geological SurveyThis may seem like a strange place to look for information on insects, but the USGS also covers insect-related topics.
- USA.govSearch engine across government agencies and departments
Subject Guide |
Contact Info The Libraries Montana State University P.O. Box 173320 Bozeman, MT 59717-3320 Phone: 406-994-1873 FAX: 406-994-2851 Email: richw@montana.edu Send Email Links: Profile & Guides Subjects: Ecology, Nursing, Medicine, Microbiology, Sociology, Anthropology, Criminal Justice, Government Documents |
Link suggestions?
Please suggest any other links or other materials that you find valuable for possible inclusion on this resources page.
Submit
Loading...
