This is the "Company and Industry Information" page of the "BFIN 322 - Business Finance" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

BFIN 322 - Business Finance   Tags: course_guide  

Last Updated: Sep 10, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.montana.edu/BFIN322 Print Guide RSS Updates

Company and Industry Information Print Page
  Search: 
 

Mergent Database

Mergent

Contains financial information, news about the company, capital stock including a history of dividends and stock splits and SEC filings. Click on the link below for access.

screenshot

Find 5 years of financial information:

  1. Enter company name or ticker symbol and choose correct company from drop down
  2. Click Company Financials
  3. Change Balance Sheet to All Sections (#1)
  4. Click Refresh (#2 on graphic)
  5. Download or Print
  6. For Ratios, then click Ratios (#3 on graphic)
  7. Download or Print

Selected Industry Averages & Ratios

(For a quick report, see the Competitors tab. Or try this for more options and details.)

  1. Enter the company name or ticker symbol and click on search.
  2. Select your company
  3. Click on Report Builder
  4. Click on Comparison Reports
  5. Under Peer Group Selection:  Select, NAICS and target groups, USA
  6. Under Select Comparison Report type: Select the companies you want to compare (Suggestion: if looking for an overall industry average, you may want to select 'All companies')
  7. Under Report Type,check 'Active companies only'
  8. Under Report Item Selection: select the categories needed (Click on the plus sign [+] to see what's avaialble and click on the > button) 
  9. The selected items should appear in the Report Items (Note: you can only select 30 items at a time)
  10. Check ' include average' and select the date range. (Note: you must check include average to see industry averages)
  11. Select your desired format and click on Create Report.

 To Locate an industry profile:

  1. Click on Report Search (2nd to last tab along the top of the screen)
  2. Place a check mark beside your industry
  3. Under Search by Region, select North America
  4. Click on Search.

 

Company Information Databases

  • Business Source Complete
    Includes business articles, SWOT analyses, and industry reports. Search by company name or ticker using the drop-down box to the right. See types of documents in facets on left.
  • Business Insights: Essentials
    Includes articles, market share, rankings, financials, investment reports, company history/chronology, SWOT reports, and financials.
  • LexisNexis Academic Company Dossiers
    Contains a business description, information about the executives and board of directors for the company, stock, bond and financial information, current news, legal and intellectual property information and more.
  • Wall Street Journal
    Use for news articles and analysis on your companies

Industry Information Databases

  • IBISWorld
    Covers over 900 industries, the major companies in those industries and the business conditions they face. It covers industry market research and risk ratings.
  • S&P NetAdvantage
    Gives broad industry analysis including individual company information within those industries. Search by industry, company, or ticker symbol.
  • NAICS (Industry Codes)
    To look up or more fully understand NAICS

SEC Filings

SEC filings are also available in Mergent and many other databases.

  • LexisNexis Academic SEC Filings
    Use advanced options to search by ticker symbol and choose which SEC reports, annual report, or other documents.
  • EDGAR Company Search
    The official SEC version of EDGAR. Includes the recent financial information (10Q), merger and acqusition information (Forms DEFM14A, DEFM14C etc.). A list of SEC filing forms can be found here.

Stock Prices

  • Value Line
    Detailed stock analysis. Includes valuation, projections, brief industry analysis, and the Value Line Investment Survey reports
  • Yahoo! Finance
    Includes daily, weekly, & monthly historical prices and other analysis
  • Google Finance
    Includes daily historical prices

Your Librarian

Profile Image
Greg Notess
Logo - AIMLogo - Google TalkLogo - LinkedInLogo - Twitter
Contact Info
Montana State University Library
406-994-6563
align@montana.edu
Send Email

Ask a Librarian

Need help? Article unavailable? Looking for more research on a topic? If I'm not available, stop by the reference desk in Renne Library (1st floor) or use the other options below.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip