This is the "Home" page of the "ARTH 491" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

ARTH 491   Tags: art, course_guide  

Last Updated: Oct 7, 2013 URL: http://guides.lib.montana.edu/ARTH491 Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Print Resources

Cover Art
The Encyclopedia of American Art Before 1914 - Jane Turner (Editor)
Call Number: N6507.E53 2000 Reference- 3rd Floor
ISBN: 1884446035
Publication Date: 2002-01-01

Cover Art
The Oxford Dictionary of American Art and Artists - Ann Lee Morgan
Call Number: N6505.M59 2007 Reference- 3rd Floor
ISBN: 9780195128789
Publication Date: 2007-07-18

The Grove Dictionary of Art - Jane Turner (Editor)
Call Number: N31.D5 1996 v. 1-35 Reference- 1st Floor
ISBN: 1884446000
Publication Date: 2003-02-11

New York Historical Society's Dictionary of Artists in America, 1564-1860 - George C. Groce; David H. Wallace
Call Number: N6536.N4 Reference- 3rd Floor
ISBN: 9780300005196
Publication Date: 1957-01-01

Art Across America - William H. Gerdts
Call Number: ND212.G47 1990 v. 1-3 Oversize- 2nd Floor
ISBN: 1558590331
Publication Date: 1990-09-01

Arts in America - Bernard Karpel (Editor)
Call Number: Z5961.U5A77 v.1-4 Reference- 3rd Floor
ISBN: 0874745780
Publication Date: 1980-06-17

Dictionary of American painters, sculptors and engravers - Mantle Fielding
Call Number: N6536.F5 1974 Reference- 3rd Floor
ISBN: 0913374038
Publication Date: 1974

To get started... Choose an artist and a work of art

  • ARTStor
    Search the ARTStor database to find your image. Create an account and build folders of saved images.
  • Art Abstracts
    Art Abstracts searches both Art Abstracts and Art Index Retrospective for bibliographic coverage of art periodicals from 1929 through the present. Search Art Abstracts for articles about art, photography, & architecture; citations for art reproductions.

Library Databases

  • American Periodicals Series Online, 1741-1900
    American Periodicals Series Online includes digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century.
  • Credo Reference
    Credo Reference is a great place to start your research. Use Credo Reference to research biographical information about your artist.
  • ProQuest Historical Newspapers
    Search the full-text of New York Times (1851-2004), Wall Street Journal (1889-1990) and Washington Post (1877-1991) simultaneously.
  • Sabin Americana
    Sabin Americana, 1500-1926 is an online collection of books, pamphlets, serials and other works about the Americas, from the time of their discovery to the early 1900s.

Online Resources

  • Making of America- University of Michigan
    Making of America (MoA) is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction.
  • Making of America- Cornell Unversity
    The Cornell University Library Making of America Collection is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction.
  • Google Books
    Use Google Books to search historical magazine articles.
    Type in the name of your artist and/or piece of art and search.
    Under Search Tools and Any Document, select Magazines.
    Finally, choose a custom time frame for publication.

Electronic Resources & Discovery Services Librarian

Profile Image
Kirsten DeMoss
Contact Info
Electronic Resources & Discovery Services Librarian
Montana State University
(406) 994-4313
Send Email
 

Chat with a Librarian

Can't wait? Leave an email address, and we'll get back in touch with you.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip