This is the "Home" page of the "ANTY-427: Anthropology of Gender" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

ANTY-427: Anthropology of Gender   Tags: anthropology, course_guide  

Examination of anthropological approaches to the studies of gender, and discussion of contemporary issues and topics related to gender and sexuality across cultures.
Last Updated: Aug 11, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.montana.edu/ANTY427-Anthropology_of_Gender Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Library Services

See the related tutorials on the tabs at the top of this guide.

 

Dictionaries/Encyclopedias at MSU Library

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Anthropology - H. James Birx (Editor)
Call Number: GN11.E63
ISBN: 0761930299
Publication Date: 2005-12-08
The Encyclopedia of Anthropology is a unique 5-volume collection of over 1200 entries that focuses on topics in physical anthropology, archaeology, cultural anthropology, linguistics and applied anthropology.

Encyclopedia of Cultural Anthropology - David Levinson; Melvin Ember (Editor)
Call Number: GN307.E52
ISBN: 0805028773
Publication Date: 1996-06-01
A four-volume "first of its kind" encyclopedia dedicated to representing the cross-cultural study of human behavior, culture, and society.

Dictionary of Anthropology - Charlotte Seymour-Smith (Editor)
Call Number: GN11.D48GN11.D48
ISBN: 0816188173
Publication Date: 1987-02-01
Some 2,000 entries cover the field, including social, cultural and physical anthropology as well as the related fields of archaeology and linguistics.

A Dictionary of Sociology - Gordon Marshall
Call Number: HM17.C66 1998 *EBOOK
Publication Date: 3rd Revised Edition--2009



The Encyclopedia of World Cultures - David Levinson (Editor); Timothy J. O'Leary (Editor)
Call Number: GN550.E53
ISBN: 0816118086
Publication Date: 1991-03-01
Prepared under the auspices of the Human Relations Area Files, this work promises to satisfy a long-standing need for "a basic reference source that provides accurate, clear, and concise descriptions of the cultures of the world" (from the preface).

Encyclopedia of Sociology - Edgar F. Borgatta
Call Number: HM425.E5 2000 (Ebook)
5 vols.

 

CRAAP test

The CRAAP Test is a list of questions to determine if the information you have is reliable.  Please keep in mind that the followiing list is not static or complete.  Different criteria will be more or less important depending upon your situation or need.

Currency:

  • When was the information published or posted?
  • Has the information been revised or updated?
  • Is the information current or out-of date for your topic?
  • Are the links functional?

Relevance:

  • Does the information relate to your topic or answer your question?
  • Who is the intended audience?
  • Is the information at an appropriate level (i.e. not too elementary or advanced for your needs)?
  • Have you looked at a variety of sources before determining this is one you will use?
  • Would you be comfortable using this source for a research paper?

Authority:

  • Who is the author/publisher/source/sponsor?
  • Are the author's credentials or organizational affiliations given?
  • What are the author's qualifications to write on the topic?
  • Is there contact information, such as a publisher or e-mail address?
  • Does the URL reveal anything about the author or source?

Accuracy:

  • Where does the information come from?
  • Is the information supported by evidence?
  • Has the information been reviewed or refereed?
  • Can you verify any of the information in another source or from personal knowledge?
  • Does the language or tone seem biased and free of emotion?
  • Are there spelling, grammar, or other typographical errors?

Purpose:

  • What is the purpose of the information? to inform? teach? sell? entertain? persuade?
  • Do the authors/sponsors make their intentions or purpose clear?
  • Is the information fact? opinion? propaganda?
  • Does the point of view appear objective and impartial?
  • Are there political, ideological, cultural, religious, institutional, or personal biases?

The CRAAP test is provided by the Meriam Library at California State University, Chico.

Articles (Indexes & Databases)

  • Academic Search Premier  
      
    Access sociology-related popular and academic articles
  • Anthropological Literature
    Bibliographic database with coverage of anthropology, archaeology, applied anthropology, biological and physical anthropology, cultural and social anthropology, ethnohistory, ethnomusicology, folklore, linguistic anthropology, and related interdisciplinary research.
  • InfoTrac PowerSearch  
      
    MSU's largest multidisciplinary collection with full text articles & books
  • LexisNexis Academic  
      
    Full-text resource for news, business, health, biographical, and legal topics
  • Social Sciences Citation Index
    Includes bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references found in over 1,950 social science journals along with selected items from another 3,500 scientific, technical, and art and humanities journals.
  • Sociological Abstracts  
      
    Sociological literature including books, conference proceedings, & dissertations
  • UlrichsWeb
    Use for additional information about periodicals, including peer-review status.
  • Bibliography of Native North Americans
    Bibliographic database with coverage on the history, life, and culture of native North Americans
  • Agricola
    Covers many of the topics found within studies of anthropology and gender.
  • America: History and Life
    America: History and Life is a bibliographic database with citations and abstracts covering the fields of U.S. and Canadian history, area studies, and current affairs literature.
  • Bibliography of Asian Studies
    Indexes principally western-language articles and book chapters on all parts of Asia published since 1971.
  • Bibliography of North American Indians
    A bibliographic database with coverage on the history, life, and culture of native North Americans
  • CAB Direct
    This agriculture database also includes articles covering anthropology, gender, etc.
 

Other Books at MSU Library

This is a sampling of books in the MSU Library related to the antrhopology of gender. MSU librarians will assist you to find other titles related to your specific topics.

Cover Art
Anthropology at the Front Lines of Gender-Based Violence - Jennifer R. Wies (Editor); Hillary J. Haldane (Editor)
Call Number: GN495.2.A567
ISBN: 9780826517807
Publication Date: 2011-08-22
Eleven ethnographic essays explore gender-based violence in "the small spaces of interaction" between victims and the workers who respond to and advocate for them directly.

Cover Art
Feminist Anthropology: Past, Present, and Future - Geller, Pamela L. & Miranda K. Stockett (Eds.)
Call Number: GN33.8.F443
ISBN: 0812239407
Publication Date: 2006-06-01
American archaeologists and cultural and biological anthropologists look at the current state of feminist anthropology three decades after the approach explicitly began.

Cover Art
Japanese Language, Gender, and Ideology - Shigeko Okamoto (Editor); Janet S. Shibamoto Smith
Call Number: PL524.75.J36
ISBN: 0195166175
Publication Date: 2004-10-28
This volume brings together studies that substantially advance our understanding of the relationship between Japanese language and gender, with particular focus on examining local linguistic practices in relation to dominant ideologies.

Handbook of Methods in Cultural Anthropology - H. Russell Bernard
Call Number: GN345.H37
ISBN: 0761991514
Publication Date: 1979-10-28
Nineteen chapters by active researchers describe the methods that anthropologists use, the logic behind their use, and the complex problems involved in conducting research on people in their natural setting.

Feminist Anthropology - Ellen Lewin (Editor)
Call Number: GN33.8.F44
ISBN: 1405101954
Publication Date: 2006-02-03
Feminist Anthropology surveys the history of feminist anthropology and offers students and scholars a fascinating collection of both classic and contemporary articles, grouped to highlight key themes from the past and present.

Gender and Anthropology - Frances E. Mascia-Lees; Nancy Johnson Black
Call Number: GN479.65.M34
ISBN: 1577660668
Publication Date: 1999-08-01

Polygamy in Primetime - Janet Bennion
Call Number: HQ994.B46
ISBN: 9781611682625
Publication Date: 2012-05-08
Although Bennion highlights problems associated with polygamy, including evidence that some forms are at high risk for father-child incest, she challenges the media-driven depiction of plural marriage as uniformly abusive and harmful to women.

Making Gender - Sherry B. Ortner
Call Number: GN479.65.O77
ISBN: 0807046329
Publication Date: 1996-10-31
A collection of eight essays by a pioneering feminist anthropologist, illuminating 25 years of her theories about gender, culture, and women's roles.

Women, Gender, Religion - Elizabeth A. Castelli (Editor); Rosamond C. Rodman (Editor)
Call Number: BL458.W5767
ISBN: 031224004X
Publication Date: 2001-10-12
Interdisciplinary and multi-traditional, these essays highlight the contributions that various disciplinary approaches make to feminist/gender studies and religion.

The Archaeology of Colonialism - Barbara Voss (Editor); Eleanor Casella (Editor)
Call Number: HQ18.E8A73
ISBN: 9781107008632
Publication Date: 2011-10-31
This volume examines human sexuality as an intrinsic element in the interpretation of complex colonial societies. While archaeological studies of the historic past have explored the dynamics of European colonialism, such work has largely ignored broader issues of sexuality, embodiment, commemoration, reproduction and sensuality.

Gendered Transformations - Tonny Krijnen; Claudia Alvares (Editor); Sofie Van Bauwel (Editor)
Call Number: P96.S45G463
ISBN: 9781841503660
Publication Date: 2010-08-15
Comprising the most current scholarship from leading experts in the fields of gender and media studies,Gendered Transformations offers readers a new foundation from which to reexamine traditional perspectives on gender.

Subject Librarian

Profile Image
Hannah McKelvey
Contact Info
Renne Library, Rm 220
Montana State University
PO Box 173320
Bozeman, MT 59717-3320
Send Email

Link suggestions?

Please suggest any other links or other materials that you find valuable for possible inclusion on this resources page.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip